Saturday, Mar. 15, 2003 - 1:43 p.m.

God Bless the Dixie Chicks

God bless those Dixie Chicks for having the cajones to stand up, and very publically vocalize a very unpopular opinion by stating that they were ashamed that the Pres was from Texas. God forbid someone from Texas not like Dubya. Because we all know he is God. NOT! Its almost illegal to not be a Republican here. I grew up GOP, but since I started thinking for myself, I've kind of changed my ways. Now how stupid is this? Redneck country stations and theer listeners here in Houston are yanking the DC's from their playlists. Fine! Not that I listen to those stations, but c'mon people. You're going to respond to free speech by instilling censorship? Whatever. You're just making yourselves look like ignorant, intolerant fucks.

And then a couple of nights ago at the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo, they were playing Lee Greenwood's "Proud To Be An American" and some people stood and some people didn't. This 18 year old kid who stayed seated with his friends was verbally harrassed and beaten by the drunk redneck sitting right behind him after the guy yelled at him to go back home to Iraq. Well the kid was Mexican-Italian heritage but born here. Stupid ignorant fucks. Since when did Lee Greenwood's song become our national anthem?

Last night Tarik and I started watching "Saving Private Ryan" which neither of us has ever seen. I made him turn it off after the first 15 or 20 minutes because I couldn't take it anymore. He remarked that all these hawks and war mongers and people frothing at the mouth to go to war should be required to watch this as part of the decision making process whether to go to war with Iraq. I wholeheartedly agree. I had heard the beginning of this movie was gory, but I really wasn't ready for it.

So I have been listening to Moby more and more, which is kind of ironic because I have been listening to Eminem more as well. I'm a conumdrum wrapped up in an enigma wrapped up in a paradox..... Anyway, "We Are All Made of Stars" is just a really cool anthem for this day and age. I got all geeky on Tarik one day and tried to explain to him that we really ARE all made of stars since cosmic dust and the tons of material that bombard our planet every year is material ejected from stars in the regular course of their starry lives, especially the heavier elements. He just rolled his eyes and told me that I was a geek, which I am. But the message of the song is what's important, and he even has Ron Jeremy in the video. So there!

All the war mongering is getting on my nerves and more and more I am convinced that the only reason Dubya is in office is to finish off Sadaam. Well, I won't be helping to pay for it since I have no job and therefore no taxes to to pay to contribute to the effort. That's some consolation. I think Dubya owes ME a paid vacation.

0 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007