Tuesday, Mar. 18, 2003 - 5:43 p.m.

Some intellectual shit

The world's going to hell in a handbasket.

OK, so I may not be a proponent of Dubya's war, but let's just go ahead and get it over with. I am really interested in seeing if we really help all those Iraqis. I also hope that as many Iraqui troops surrender as soon as possible so we don't kill them. I am sure they are the LAST people who are there because they want to be.

So I am worried about my father in law who was sent to Kuwait by the company he works for last week and is to be there indefinitely. I learned that he has been trained in all that chemical weapon survial gear and what not. I am sure he has to wear a flak jacket as well. He spent almost three years in Bosnia and had to wear one. He also had to renounce his Lenanese citizenship for this job too. He's worked for X&X for almost 30 years and they have sent him everywhere and he's never had to renounce his citizenship. I mean, he's been an American citizen for 25 years or so and held dual citizenship this whole time, but this is just plain weird. BUT, the Lebanese are really cool. When ever this particular job is over I am sure he will be able to get his passport back from the Lebanese government no problem. They're just cool like that.

OK, tomorrow is my first blocking rehearsal for Dracula. Let's hope we're not there til 2 in the morning. "Please God, don't let me fuck up." Its my first directing gig and I think its going to be really fun and I would like to do it again. I am going to ask our artistic director to consider "A Man for All Seasons." I'm not Catholic, nor do I agree with all the Catholic church stands for, but there are few people in history that I have more respect for than Thomas More for standing firm on his convictions and not being bullied into admitting he believed in something when he didn't. Its just such a compelling story.

There I go, sounding all nerdy again. And in closing I would like to leave with a quote from Faust. Faust asked Mephisophol�s where Hell was, to which Mephisopholes replied "After having beheld and been in the presence of the Glory of God, EVERYWHERE became Hell that wasn't God's Presence."

0 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007