Monday, May. 19, 2003 - 6:25 p.m.

Uh..................................

New Page 1

OK, so today, bullshit, ramble on about nothing and everything kind of day.

As for TRF, it really does look like the Boleyn sisters will be "on vacation" in France this season.  Our director auditioned both Nina and me for parts in the scenario;  Nina is being considered foremost for the German lady (which she would just about wet herself if she got) and I was read foremost for the Spanish lady (which is funny since I really don't speak much Spanish but can fake it pretty well).  I was also auditioned (with only 4 other people) for a new gig there.  There is already a wine tasting and this year they are adding a new beer garden with a beer tasting.  I auditioned to be a beer wench who is quick witted and entertaining, and also gets paid to drink beer a few times a day...........................inside..............................in the air conditioning..................... and gets tipped.  Here's the ironic thing.  I hate beer.  Cannot STAND it.  Bleh!  I wish I liked it, I really do, but I have just never been able to acquire a taste for it.   This is not such a bad thing though as it can be a funny character quirk if I were to be cast in this role.  I cannot stress what a coveted gig this is.  So, I did pretty well I think and I was up against some pretty stiff competition so I have NO idea what I will end up doing.  Suffice it to say that there will be no Boleyn without the other!  We are like Abbott and Costello.  Neither of us does their Boleyn without the other.  Just can't be done.

I would also like to brag on my Dracula cast.  They have worked their butts off and despite some attendance issues and my nerves being fried because I am a nervous first time director, I have had a blast working on this show and cannot wait to direct again.  We close this Saturday and will hopefully have a full house.  Well, if we DON'T have a full house I will be surprised since many folks wait til the last minute to see shows.  The acting and performances in this show are outstanding, even down to the characters with the least amount of dialogue who have imbued  their characters with the most wonderful nuances.  Honestly, I didn't have to do a lot of direction on this show.   Our next season at UpStage is still being worked out and I have begged our artistic director to do "The Taming of the Shrew."  He has not said no.  Keep fingers crossed!

OK, more shameless plugs, or rather, selfless promotion.  I just wanted to highlight two of my favorite diaries out there;  prowlingleo and tattodnanny who have provided me with hours of entertainment and lots of support!  Read them, leave them nice notes, they are sweet sweet people.

One more tid bit before I go....  I am hopelessly fascinated by all things mullet and redneck.  I found this awesome site over the weekend featuring mullet haikus!!!  I cannot stop laughing!!  A true, true guilty pleasure. Oo!  I think I will do a guilty pleasure survey!  In any event, read it here.

And finally, the song virus du jour (and how in the world I came up with this one is WAAAAAAAAAY beyond me):  "I Love Trash" ~ Oscar the Grouch.

0 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007