Saturday, Jul. 19, 2003 - 8:11 a.m.

I LOVE my dog!!!! No, really. She rocks.

New Page 1

Ahhhhhh, there is nothing like being up and showered before the butt crack of dawn on a Saturday morning.� NOT!� Why the early hour to be up and showered?� Why am I not still in bed engaged in blissful slumber next to my snoring hubby?� Why does the sleep elude me? ALL excellent queries that I shall now answer.��

What is the first thing you think of when YOU wake up in the morning?� Well, 'scuse the TMI moment here, but my first thoughts happen to be, "I gotta pee, I gotta get coffee, I gotta let the pooch out to pee."� All reasonable and expected responses.� All can be done within a minimal amount of waking consciousness which allows one to complete said tasks and then get back into bed, sleep a tad more and then get up at an hour that most SANE people get up.��

So at 6:15 this morning my bladder called.�� No biggie. I am expert at going pee barely awake.� Now, once I get up, Abigail knows its time for her to go as well and she will sit on the end of the bed and wait for me to finish my morning constitutional then hop off the bed and SPRINT to the door to be let out.� And as my morning routine RARELY varies, I make the coffee while she is outside doing her business like a good little doggie.�� However, this morning, unbeknownst to me, was to be different, for while my wee terrier was engaged in her morning constitutional, she made the decision to, upon completion of that act, ROLL in said morning constitutional covering herself in poo and wet morning grass.� I of course don't see this till she comes TROTTING to the door to be let back in.� But, I made a dash to the bathroom to get a towel to wrap her in, made it back and opened the door just in time to get a whiff and to grab her before she had a chance to go defile the rest of the house by rolling and rubbing her wet stinky self all over the carpets to dry herself off.� She of course is squirming to be let go and in the ensuing struggle gets poo on me!� Well, I am NOT going to let Tarik sleep through this, and I march straight to the bathroom, plop her down in the shower and tell him he has to come and see this.� Here is the wet brown (actually she is white, but when you're covered in poo......) and grass covered doggie standing in the shower at 6:30 in the morning with me and my husband gawking at her in various states of waking.� She then makes a mad dash out of the shower, out of the bathroom and under the bed.� You know how dogs get when they get the sprints?� Tarik is trying to get her to come out from under the bed, and all I am thinking is, "Dear God, our bed room is soooooooooooooo going to stink when she rubs that poo all over the underside of our bed and on the carpet under our bed.�

Luckily for us, this dog LOVES getting bathed, and I have actually had to toss her out of the shower because she has hopped in with me before I could get the door shut. So I turn on the shower and that was all I needed to do.� I called her and she came sprinting back into the bathroom and hopped in the shower.� So, here I am, at 6 freaking 30 on a Saturday morning, showering to get the poo off of my dog.� Needless to say she smells and looks MUCH better now.� And she feels quite frisky as well.� She has not stopped running around the house, playing with her ball and chasing the kitties (most probably her greatest talent).� And having just had her breakfast, as she normally does when she finishes eating, came up behind me, and belched as loud as she could.� Outstanding!� I love my dog!

Song virus du jour: "Jacob's Ladder" from Rush's album "Permanent Waves"

0 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007