Saturday, Jul. 26, 2003 - 1:40 p.m.

Baking disaster

New Page 1

Was browsing around golfwidow today (thank you for the flower by the way!) and saw that kitchenlogic was looking for bakery memories.  Well this isn't so much a bakery memory as it is a baking memory.

When I was a kid, like 8 or so, my mom got me a cookbook for children.  There were simple to make and easy to follow recipes for making things like toad-in-the-hole (an egg in a hole in a piece of toast), muffins, pancakes and cookies.  Pretty educational too as it taught you how to use the kitchen appliances like the stove and the oven, how to measure ingredients and tell time by timing how long things baked.  So one summer morning while my mom was out playing tennis and my dad was home and not flying (he is a retired airline pilot), I decided I was going to make muffins!  And I can't remember if they were blueberry or not, but I made those muffins and I was damn proud of them.  Until I tasted them.  They tasted horrible!  Absolutely disgusting.  Turns out, I didn't know that there was a difference between baking powder and baking soda.  Guess which one I used.  Well, I thought I must have followed the recipe correctly anyway, regardless of how they tasted.  I decided to offer one to my dad.  He ate it.  He ate the whole thing and then told me how good it was!  Event though I KNEW how horrible they tasted, my dad still told me they were good and ate them so I wouldn't think I had failed.  How many parents out there would do that for their children?  Quite a few probably, but it is just a perfect example of the type of person my father is.  I am 34 now and obviously have never forgotten this.

Song virus du jour:  "Kick in the Eye" ~ Bauhaus

0 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007