Saturday, Aug. 16, 2003 - 5:18 p.m.

The King is dead. Long live the King.

Seeing as today is the 26th anniversary of Elvis

Seeing as today is the 26th anniversary of Elvis' death I though I would write about that.  My dad knew Elvis.  And not just as an acquaintance.  They were good friends back in high school and even after Elvis became famous and moved into Graceland.  My dad is from Memphis, Tennessee where, as everyone knows, Elvis eventually settled.  The story goes like this:  My father was friends with a woman named Regis Wilson, who is famous for being Elvis' prom date.  She and my father went to Central High School together and Elvis went to Humes High School.  She introduced them to each other and they became friends.

They used to go to drive in movies with friends, hang out and throw beer bottles at cars... general delinquent stuff.  Oh yeah, did I mention that my father is the son of a Methodist preacher?  So that makes him a delinquent be default.  After Elvis bought Graceland my father would go over there often and hang out and play billiards in the basement.  In fact my dad and he were friends up until my dad moved to Houston in 1964 and they lost touch.  He said Elvis was a really nice guy, which is what I've heard from everyone who ever met him.  My aunt was working as a bank teller once and he came to her window and took out 10 $1000 dollar bills for gifts to people.  

Years ago, we were in Memphis for Thanksgiving and I went to Graceland with my aunt. If you have never been, you must.  You must put it on the list of things you do before you die.  I had always been an Elvis fan, but I didn't really know that much about him until I visited.  The generosity in this man's heart was bigger than any hit record he had.  He was a regular patron of approximately 50 Memphis area charities, would pay people's medical bills, and even had a medical supply shop open on Christmas day so he could buy a wheelchair for a woman whose was stolen.

Tease, make fun, joke about his girth.  The man's humanity went above, beyond and was bigger than all of it.  Today he deserves the respect and homage due to him.

Song virus du jour"  Suspicious Minds, simply because its my favorite Elvis song and Dwight Yoakum does a mean cover of it!

0 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007