Saturday, Apr. 10, 2004 - 8:45 a.m.

The Times They are A Changin', again....

Good LORD I

Good LORD I'm lazy!  No, not really, just really busy.  Y'all probably thought you would never hear from me again.  Since Tarik has been away I have for all intents and purposes been living by myself and I have buried myself in projects.  After directing You're A Good Man, Charlie Brown over Christmas and the New Year, I took on The Wizard of Oz because, well, we HAD no director.  My first foray into directing children's productions.  Lots of sound effects and special effects, most of which I created myself (chalk that up to one more skill I know - sound editing).  We close today and honestly I am glad.  I cannot stand to be in that facility one day longer.  This will probably be the last show we do there.  UpStage Theatre's future is extremely uncertain at this point.

Tarik came home on the 25th of February and bless his heart he was a busy boy.  My car has a flat and I can't get the tire off to take it to get it fixed so its been sitting in the garage up on the jack for almost 2 months now.  So I used his car while he was here and he just waited for me to come home from work to go anywhere.  But that's not really why he was busy.  In the course of two weeks he flew from Amman, Jordan, to Beirut, Lebanon, to Houston.  Then we flew to Las Vegas where we had an absolutely fabulous time and stayed at the Venetian Hotel (which I HIGHLY recommend if you get the chance), then Vegas back to Houston, then that following Saturday he flew back to Amman.  That's alot of flying to do in two weeks.  We got back to Houston from Vegas on Monday the 1st, and literally 20 minutes after we walked in the door, he started feeling sick so he lay down on the couch. 10 hours later, he was still puking, bless his heart.  Not exactly what he has in mind for his R&R.  No wonder he was sick, from flying around so much and just running himself down to the bone.  So he left on the 6th of March and I won't see him again til the middle of June when I go over there.  We are looking to do a week in Lebanon and a week in England.  Hopefully I won't be too afraid to fly.

But the really reason I am writing this today is because, like my subject line, the times, they are a changin'.... again.  Tarik and I are both 35 and we have no children.  We thought while he was home, "Eh, let's not use any birth control and see what happens."  Well, he left on the 6th, I took a pregnancy test two weeks later and nothing.  Oh well,  I didn't expect it would take since it was too early, meaning, I wouldn't be ovulating for a least another 5 or 6 days.  And besides, I'll see him again in the summer and it would be a better time to try since that means less time till he gets home.

So I was WRONG!!!!  Either I am EXTREMELY fertile, or there has been some serious spermage backup on his part because I am pregnant!  First try, no acrobatics, nothing special, no drugs, no planning, no nothing.  So there it is.  I am due December 3rd, and I am freaking out, excited, happy, anxious, all kinds of emotions.  I spent the first three days after finding out, crying my eyes out, not because I was sad, I was just overwhelmed.  Its kind of scary since he is not here and I won't be home til I am in my 7th month.  But that's OK.  I can do alot by myself in the meantime, and my mother-in-law is only 10 minutes away.  It just means that I will have a very large "honey-do" list when he gets home, like putting together the nursery.

So that is all I have for now.  I won't bore you all with all the gory day to day details of my state, because let's face it, I do have other things to do as well.  I don't want to get sucked into that whole "Cult of Baby" thing.  That's not to say that I am not looking forward to this, I just don't want to be weird about it!

Cheers for now!

SVDJ:   "Storytime"  Music by Danny Elfman from the film "Edward Scissorhands"

0 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007