Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005 - 7:14 a.m.

Bah Humbug, sorta...

So I have a party starting here at mi casa in 4 hours. Its an annual thing I began about 5 years ago, building gingerbread houses out of graham crackers. Last year was out though since I had just had the baby. I missed not having it. And this year, I am hoping it will really help get me into the Christmas spirit which I find it more difficult to do with each passing year. This year, as with the last two Christmases, I think that sentiment can be chalked up to the fact that I am here by myself with hubby being overseas. He has missed the last two Christmases here with his family. He WILL be home for Christmas this year though. In fact, it has now been over a year since he last came home. Because of the tax stipulations with his ex-pat status, he cannot spend more than 30 or 35 days in the US in a given contract year, or he will have to pay income taxes. I think this trip though he will eat into that. And I am OK with that. It will be nice having him home.

Last year was just surreal. He came home 3 days before Travis was born, was here for almost a month, and then left to go back to Jordon a few days before Christmas, leaving me with a month old baby to look after by myself. I cried. Alot. But I made it through and have done well, all things considering. My life has not much variety other than go to work, come home, take care of Travis, go to bed. I did do TRF this year which got me out the house on the weekends and let me spend time with my friends. But other than that, no variety. When Travis and I went to Jordan over Thanksgiving, he and Tarik got on really well. The last time we had seen each other was April, when we met up in the Bahamas for two weeks when Travis was 4 months old. He has sure changed alot since then. In April he couldn't sit up on his own, now he is starting to walk, and has VERY firm opinions about things and expresses himself quite efficiently about those things.

While I am sitting here contemplating getting in the shower to get ready for my gig, he is in the other room watching Baby Einstien, or as I like to refer to it, Baby Crack, as it seems to be addictive. Its like it shoots out some kind of hypno ray that keeps him absolutely GLUED to it. Its actually funny to watch.

So with this being Travis' firt "real" Christmas, as last year he was only a month old, I am hoping to feel that special something that this time of year brings. I have had no time to put up even one decoration, but I don't think my guests will mind. I will just be happy to have people here in my home with me, enjoying a nice afternoon. Now if I can just get the gumption up to go clean the cat puke off of the dining room floor, all will be good.

Song virus du jour: "Oh Tannenbaum"~The Vince Guraldi Trio, from the Charlie Brown Christmas Special

0 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007