Sunday, Dec. 18, 2005 - 6:32 a.m.

Another year gone

Ciao 2005

1.What did you do in 2005 that you'd never done before?
Visted Amman, Jordan

2. Did you keep your new years' resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
I never make them because I can never keep them.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
Oh God yes. Several friends, but no family members.

4. Did anyone close to you die?
No, thank God.

5. What countries did you visit?
The Bahamas, in April, and Jordan, over Thanksgiving.

6. What would you like to have in 2006 that you lacked in 2005?
More personal or relaxation time.

7. What date from 2005 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
November 24th. It was Travis' first birthday.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
For all intents and purposes, being a single parent of a newborn, while still maintaining a two parent household, paying the bills, cleaning house, working a FULL time job, doing Ren Fest and trying to keep the wheels rolling as normally as possible.

9. What was your biggest failure?
Sometimes remembering not to fully appreciate all that I have.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
No, thank God.

11. What was the best thing you bought?
Tarik is getting Space 1999, the complete DVD collection for Christmas.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
My mother in law, who looks after my wee one while I am at work.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
My co-workers, who seem to want to have nothing to do with me.

14. Where did most of your money go?
As opposed to previous years, SAVINGS and 401k.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
Just about any of Travis' "firsts".

16. What song will always remind you of 2005?
GAH! That musical number we did at faire, "Oh Gracious Queen".

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:

i. happier or sadder?
Can't really say. I have different stresses than last year, but overall, I think I am happier

ii. thinner or fatter?
THINNER! I am thinner after just having had a baby. In fact, I am 15 pounds thinner than when I got pregnant. Go me!

iii. richer or poorer?
Richer in the familial sense, and definately more money in the bank.

18. What do you wish you'd done more of?
Visit my sister and her family to see my niece and nephew.

19. What do you wish you'd done less of?
Spending 20 hours a week commuting to and from work.

20. How will you be spending Christmas?
My husband will be home for Christmas for the first time since 2002. We will be spending it with his family then driving to Dallas for a second Christmas with my family.

21. Did you fall in love in 2005?
Already in love.

23. How many one-night stands?
None.

24. What was your favorite TV program?
Lost, and The Daily Show with Jon Stewart.

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year?
Nah. I basically just feel sorry for them for being horrible people.

26. What was the best book you read?
Didn't have much time to read, even when I was home on maternity leave. Instead, I discovered books on tape and listened to all 6 Harry Potters.

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?
Learning the Halleluia chorus and singing it with a brass quintet at Faire.

28. What did you want and get?
A right hand ring.

29. What did you want and not get?
Flexible hours at work.

30. What was your favorite film of this year?
I think I only saw two movies this year. I would have to say, "Revenge of the Sith."

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
I turned 36 this year. I was on maternity leave and I think I just kind of sat at home. Then went out for sushi that evening with friends.

32. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably satisfying?
Being able to spend more time with my son and husband.

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2005?
Classic and non trendy. It was also nice to be able to fit into slacks I have not been able to wear in 3 years!

34. What kept you sane?
Theatre and friends.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
Well, how about I lost all respect for Tom Cruise.

36. What political issue stirred you the most?
The backlash agaist homosexuality.

37. Who did you miss?
My husband.

38. What made you cry in 2005?
Thinking about how much I love my son.

39. What made you smile in 2005?
Thinking about how much I love my son.

40. Who was the best new person you met?
Although I had my baby at the end of 2004, I have spent all of 2005 getting to know him.

41. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2005:
In general, I learned much about myself in terms of being a parent and parenting on my own (temporarily), and surprising myself by my ability to do this.

42. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.
Well, since I watched "The Sound of Music" last night, I am going to go with "Climb Every Mountain."

Christmas song virus du jour: "My Favorite Things" ~ Julie Andrews from "The Sound of Music"

0 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007