Monday, Dec. 19, 2005 - 9:48 a.m.

100 things You Always Wanted to Know About Me!

Everyone has these bio pages, so I guess I will do one too.

1. I am adopted and have always known.

2. I have one brother who is adopted, and one sister who is not.

3. I am the oldest of my siblings.

4. When I was little and went to church and put money in the offering plate, I thought all of it went to help the poor.

5. I was raised Methodist.

6. My grandfather was a Methodist minister and eventually became a bishop in the Methodist Church.

7. I only go to church on Easter and Christmas Eve because those are the only two days I like going to church.

8. My grandmother cut hair during the depression to make money.

9. I never knew my mom's parents. My grandmother died before I was 5 and my grandfather (whose name I couldn't even tell you) walked out on them when my mom was 2.

10. My father was a commercial airline pilot.

11. My mom was a stay at home mom until we were all in high school.

12. I play the trumpet and was 2nd chair in my High School Symphonic Band.

13. I LIKED BAND!

14. In high school I drove an '68 Mustang, Shelby Cobra - yeah, I was a bad ass. But it had no ac, no power steering and no power brakes. I was buff.

15. I never had a boyfriend for more than 3 months until I went to college and met Glenn. He is now a woman and looks GREAT!

16. I will always regret that my world class soccer player sister had to drop the game before making it to the Olympics on Team USA.

17. My brother was a baseball catcher and 3 pitchers he caught for made it to MLB.

18. I never quite fit in with one clique or group of friends, rather, had friends of all types.

19. I dyed my hair black at 18.

20. I dyed my hair purple at 20.

21. I graduated 61st out of my High School class of 600.

22. I almost failed out of my first semester of college because I didn't have any real study skills. I earned a 1.7 gpa.

23. By my last semester of college I earned a 3.6.

24. I double majored in Russian and Studio Art.

25. I graduated in 9 semesters with a double major.

26. It took me 2 and half years after graduating to find a permanent job.

27. I interviewed with the CIA before I graduated and they recommended that I continue with the application process. I didn't.

28. I went to Washington to look for a job (1993) and walked right into the Russian Embassy and dropped off my resume. I never heard from them.

29. I had always thought it a greater compliment to be told I was smart rather than pretty.

30. Now I appreciate both.

31. I once turned in a former employer to the FBI because I suspected him of conducting illegal activities. Of what, I shant say.

32. I have been sexually harassed at work and fired from said job after telling that employer to stop it.

33. I have been terminated from 5 jobs, none of which were for cause.

34. I have panic and generalized anxiety disorder.

35. I prefer not to medicate for these conditions although I have in the past.

36. Even though my father was a pilot and I grew up flying, I am terrified of flying.

37. Once, on a family trip to California (flying standby), we got two first class seats. Once we sat down, we had to move because Mick Jagger and Keith Richards bought the seats at the last minute.

38. I wish my mom would be a little more motherly when warranted.

39. I wish my dad would quit smoking. He's 70.

40. I have purchased only 2 vehicles in my life.

41. I didn't start participating in theater until I was out of college.

42. My first role was as The Cheshire Cat in "Alice in Wonderland."

43. My last role on stage was in "The Immigrant" a year and a half ago, when I was still in my first trimester of pregnancy and not really showing.

44. I would make theater my career if I could.

45. Ultimately, I would love to be an opera diva.

46. I still keep in touch with my oldest girlfriend Marianne, whom I have known since we were 9.

47. We never see each other even though we live in the same city.

48. I am jealous, even resentful that my brother, who never graduated from college, and my sister, who was never considered as smart as me, earn more money (well, she did when she went to work and will make at least twice as much as me when she goes back to work as a programmer).

49. I have self esteem issues (well hell, who doesn�t).

50. If I could retire any where in the world it would be Broumanha, Lebanon, a small but posh town up in the hills outside of Beirut.

51. I love the Middle East and think everyone should be able to visit the Holy Land before they die.

52. I married my best friend.

53. I wish he spoke Arabic.

54. My husband holds dual American/Lebanese citizenship.

55. Because my husband is a Lebanese citizen, our son is a citizen of Lebanon as well.

56. I am compelled to read and watch every single news item I see in which children are harmed. I can't help it.

57. I would adopt every child who needs it if I could.

58. I think Mike Myers is H-O-T!!

59. I love it when my straight forward, almost introverted husband does something totally goofy, like dressing up as a nun for Halloween and singing "Climb Every Mountain" at karaoke.

60. I am glad my son has blue eyes and not brown eyes.

61. Even though I have done it once, I am still scared of going through pregnancy.

62. I drive too fast.

63. I hate it when people send emails with virus warnings before they check to verify that the threat is real. I always reply to them with a link from snopes.com.

64. People are surprised that my house is not decorated in a total Renaissance theme.

65. Sometimes I wish I could just move to an island with my husband and son, away from everyone so I never have to hear bad news.

66. I believe God transcends all faiths and religions.

67. Real butter, real cream, real cheese and real sugar. None of this artificial crap.

68. I have my tonsils, wisdom teeth and appendix.

69. I love Goth music. Bauhaus, Tones on Tail and Love and Rockets are my favorites.

70. I also love Neil Diamond and Barry Manilow.

71. Although I wear tons of black, my favorite colors are all shades of purple and cobalt blue.

72. I have no tattoos.

73. I love West Highland Terriers and have had three in my life.

74. My house is full of Westie knick-knacks.

75. I am fascinated by the ancient world, which, is not so ancient (meaning Roman civilization).

76. I am right handed.

77. I have never worn braces.

78. I have never had a broken bone.

79. In 1998 I suffered a spontaneous pneumo-thorax (my lung collapsed on its own).

80. I unfortunately suffer the discomfort of acid reflux which I am sure is a result of my pregnancy.

81. Roaches scare the crap out of me while mice, rats, snakes and spiders don�t really cause me once ounce of trepidation.

82. I can roll my tongue.

83. I support a free and independent Palestine along side Israel.

84. I think Bush is the worst president we have ever had.

85. I think Nixon could have been a great president had he not let his paranoia get in the way.

86. My favorite symphony is Beethoven�s 9th.

87. Books, books and more books!

88. Coffee, coffee and more coffee!

89. Cherry Coke, Cherry Coke, and more Cherry Coke!

90. Shrimp � any way you want to cook.

91. My food motto: �If its fried, I�ll eat it.�

92. My favorite life philosophy: �Life is like a hot bath. It feels good while you�re in it, but the longer you stay, the more wrinkled you get.

93. I hate talking on the phone.

94. I kiss my dog on the lips.

95. My favorite book as an adolescent was �Island of the Blue Dolphins� by Scott Dell.

96. Tastes great over less filling.

97. Unlike most women, I am neither a shoe-a-holic nor a choc-o-holic.

98. My best girlfriend Nina is like my long lost sister. I utterly adore her.

99. Countries I have visited: Canada, France, UK, Lebanon, The Bahamas, Jordan. Strangely enough, I have never been anywhere near Mexico, even though I live in Houston, Texas.

100. I procrastinate horribly when it comes to changing the litter box.

Christmas song virus du jour: "Frosty the Snowman" ~ The Ronettes

0 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007