Thursday, Dec. 22, 2005 - 5:56 a.m.

Hubby is home

Hubby is home, and I am actually feeing quite weird with it. That to me is understandable since I have been living my myself, and then with the baby, for two years. I've established routines and habits, and have set ways of doing things around here. And even though this is OUR house, I feel like MY territory, MY space is being invaded. Its just going to take some getting used to. However, as soon as I do grow acustomed to his being here, then he has to leave again. I really REALLY hope that he pays real attention to what has to be done around here during the day when staying home with Travis. In the spate of maybe three hours that he was awake when he got home yesterday, this house, that had been neat and tidy, had turned into a tornadic disaster. I hope he doesn't expect me to pick up after him, or, if he is not feeling well, do everything for him, because when I am not feeling well, I don't have the choice to expect someone else to do things. I have to do them myself. In fact, after he came in yesterday, we ate and then he went to bed leaving me to clean up his dishes and the leftover food, and put away thing he had dragged out of his luggage, practically undress and change him into some jammies myself, along with keeping the baby occupied, of course. I also hope he realizes that he cannot sleep as long as Travis is awake. But somehow I get the feeling he is just not going to be able to do it. I just have a thing about having to do things yourself if you want them done right. And I feel bad for not having much confidence in my hubby, but, I know him, and frankly, I don't know if he will be able to to cut it.

I actually have a list of things I hope he will do today: 1. Change the litter box, 2. Unpack his luggage neatly, 3. straighten up the kitchen, 4. hopefully hit the carpet with some Oxy Clean. I say this because I still have to go to work today and these things need to be done. And yes, he is on break from work, but there IS work to be done here, and I should not be expected to do it all, as I have been for two years. Wow, I am really on the defensive here.

Time to go get showered and ready for work so I can get him up and give him the laundry list of what he has to do around here today.

Christmas song virus du jour: "Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer" ~ Dean Martin

Useless trivia du jour:
Saint Nicholas is the common name for Saint Nicholas of Myra, who lived in 4th century Byzantine Lycia, (modern Turkey), who had a reputation for secret gift-giving. This is as much as is generally known about him in the West.

This historical character was the inspiration for a mythical figure known as Nikolaus in Germany and Sinterklaas in the Netherlands and Flanders, which in turn was the inspiration for the myth of Santa Claus. Sinterklaas (a contracted form of Sint Nicolaas) is a major celebration in the Netherlands (see below). Among Orthodox Christians, he is remembered with more reverence and less frivolity.

Saint Nicholas is revered by many as the patron saint of seamen, merchants, archers, children, prostitutes, pharmacists, lawyers, pawnbrokers, prisoners, the city of Amsterdam and of Russia.

0 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007