Wednesday, Jan. 04, 2006 - 6:28 a.m.

Feed the baby!

New Page 1

Soooooooooooooooo, I thought having the hubby home would make it easier on me by lightening the load around here.  Uh, no.  I got home last night from work around 7:30 and his parents were here.  No biggie.  But the house was an absolute mess, so I started straightening up.  Then they left shortly after 8 and he asked what I wanted for dinner.  I don't really like eating that late, and I had tried to pick something up on the way home from work but he said not to worry about it.  Well, I told him it was kind of late, and I didn't want to wait for some take out, so I popped a couple of Marie Calendar dinners into the oven.  Travis was in a mood, and by this time it was almost 8:30 and I asked hubby when Travis last ate.  His reply, "At lunchtime."  He hadn't fed the baby since lunch, BECAUSE HE FORGOT! Roughly 8 freaking hours since he last ate! You don't just FORGET to feed your kid!  And THEN, he actually got pissy at ME for getting on to him about it.  When I asked him why he had not fed the kid dinner, he said that he was busy, and then added that I was home as well and I hadn't fed him.  Um, well, no, I haven't been home.  At least the last time I checked, at 6:00 pm when he SHOULD have been eating, I was still at work, so it would have been a little difficult to feed someone from 25 miles away.   Whatever.  

 

So on top of straightening up and picking crap up off the floor and counters, making dinner, I had to feed the kiddo too.  Hubby played video games. Don't get me wrong.  I know how tiring it is watching a toddler by oneself  all day.  I also know how tiring it is to be up before 5:00 a.m. (without any semblance of a good night's sleep), bust my ass at work all day, have to deal with HOURS of traffic to get home and THEN take care of a toddler, by myself.  So I don't feel it was very fair for my work day, which started before his, to have continued while he just quit for the day. Now, I know he is here all day with the little tykester, but, it IS possible to do work around here with the kid.  Yes, he will become very upset with you if you drop him off in his corral area, but he will get over it. 

 

I ended up actually not eating dinner until 9-ish, and then got the kiddo changed and into bed around 9:30.  Hubby then comes into the bedroom and asks if I am going to bed, THEN proceeds to tell me that we need to lower the mattress frame in his crib, right now.  Well, no, not now we're not since I am in bed and plan on staying here.  It will take too long to do.  He tells me we HAVE to do it, because HE gets no sleep at night (kid is sleeping with us right now - I KNOW!  I KNOW!!  MY BAD!) because the little guy tosses and turns all night.  Oh REALLY?!  YOU get no sleep?  Let's see, the last time I was able to sleep through the night without being woken by snoring loud enough to wake the dead, tossing and turning from the other side of the bed, the dog chasing the cat in the middle of the night, having to go to the bathroom, checking on the kiddo because I am his mother and that is what I do, was, well over a year ago.  In fact, I have not slept through the night in over two years taking my pregnancy into account.  So I am sorry if I am a little less than sympathetic to your "I can't get a good night's sleep" seeing as I wake up at least 4 times a night because of you and a myriad of other disturbances around this place.  You should have thought of fixing the mattress frame sooner while you were playing video games while I was running all over the house busting my ass cleaning up after you, getting YOUR dinner ready and feeding your child.

 

Gah, now I've gone and done it.  I'm in a really pissy mood and mad at my husband.  I think its time to get a shower and wash off the angry.

 

P.S. - Hook 'Em Horns!!!  WE CAN WIN THE NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP!!!


Song Virus du Jour:  "The Eyes of Texas Are Upon You" ~ The University of Texas at Austin school song. 


Useless Trivia du Jour

The Eyes of Texas is the alma mater of the University of Texas at Austin. It is set to the tune of I've Been Working on the Railroad. Students, faculty, and alumni of the University sing the song at Longhorn sports games and other events.

The song was written in 1903 by John Sinclair. The lyrics were intended to poke fun at University President Colonel Prather. Prather had attended Washington and Lee College, where Robert E. Lee would frequently tell his students "The eyes of the South are upon you." Prather was known for including in his speeches a similar admonition, "The Eyes of Texas are Upon You," meaning that the state of Texas was watching and expecting the students to go out and do great things. Prather enjoyed the song and promoted its usage. He died not long thereafter, and the song was played at his funeral. After this, the song achieved its complete dignity and meaning.[1]

Lyrics

The eyes of Texas are upon you,
All the live long day.
The eyes of Texas are upon you,
You cannot get away.
Do not think you can escape them,
At night, or early in the morn'.
The eyes of Texas are upon you,
'Till Gabriel blows his horn!

0 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007