Wednesday, Jan. 11, 2006 - 10:25 a.m.

Should I Stay or Should I Go?

New Page 1

Hubby is leaving today.  And just as I suspected, I got used to having him here right around the time he had to leave.  There were so many projects we intended on doing while he was here that we never got around to.  Executing our wills, organizing the garage, cleaning out the office...  But we did manage to get the crib taken care of and the mattress frame lowered.  It took several days because one of the bolts was stuck and would not move out of its shaft.  He finally had to saw the head of the bolt off to move that corner of the frame down, and get a new bolt.  At least we have some new tools.  

And with him leaving and being gone indefinitely this time, we are trying to decide if I should quit my job.  He would like me to come to Jordan for a couple of months, and then be a full time mom and get involved in some projects and other ventures that might best suit my talents.  He hates it that I am so stressed out all of the time with my long ass day, and dealing with my less than friendly co-workers, and just the general negativity that comes with working at a law firm.  I like working for my boss and other aspects of it there, and if I could work there part time, that would be perfect.  But I know Mike won't go for that and I will just have to quit outright. 

The pros to staying would be I really like and am loyal to my boss and I would hate to leave him in  lurch to find someone new, the extra income, which, if you tally up my daily hours spent commuting and being at work, really is not that worth it.  I don't bring that much in anyway and would probably make a better salary as a teacher, with less hours.  I really adore many of the people in the building and would miss them terribly.  There is also the excitement factor as we have many high profile cases that attract media attention, and lord knows I don't want to to shy away from attention.

The cons of staying include my long ass day, the stress, the negativity, my co-workers who want nothing to do with me, and the prospect that I will never earn more there than I do now.  Let's face it, change, even for the better, is never easy.  Its stressful in an of itself.  I will have to think on it long and hard before making a decision.


Song Virus Du Jour:  "Should I Stay or Should I Go" ~ The Clash


Useless Trivia du Jour:  There are 73,084 working lawyers in Texas.

0 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007