Thursday, Jan. 12, 2006 - 5:51 a.m.

Planes, planes and planes

New Page 1

And here it is.  I have officially hit the lonely wall.  With Tarik gone, and no one here for me to talk to, at 5 in the morning it is really quiet when you are all by yourself, save for the wee one.  No one here when I get home from work this evening, no one to talk to, no one to keep me company or eat dinner with.

He left yesterday on KLM and his flight was delayed til at least 5:00 pm so at this moment, he is still in the air somewhere over Europe, hopefully landing in the next hour or so.  Then he gets to go spend several hours at a hotel in Amsterdam in his day room before hopping a plane to Amman.  He should be back in the office tomorrow, and exhausted at that.  Going back and forth to Amman is truly grueling.   And you should try it with a one year old by yourself.  THAT'S an adventure.  On my way back from Amman in November, I left Amman on Royal Jordanian Airlines at 10:00 in the morning.  14 long ass hours later I landed in Chicago.  Had my departure from Chicago not been delayed I would have missed my flight to Houston having to deplane, get bags, go through customs and immigration, check in for that flight and trudge 13 miles down the concourse to catch said flight.  2 hours was not enough to make that connection.  But, the flight was delayed and I made the flight finally getting into Houston at 11:00 pm.  I finally got home around midnight.  My total time awake from the time I got up the previous morning til the time I got home, 28 hours.  28 hours of being terrified of flying and hyperventilating at the slightest turbulence.  NOT fun.  Tarik hates flying as well, but is not terrified like I am.  His doctor was kind enough however to give him some happy pills to deal with it.

He is supposed to call me when he gets to Amsterdam.  Hopefully I won't be in the shower or away from a phone when he calls.


Song Virus Du Jour:  "Leaving on a Jet Plane" ~ Peter, Paul and Mary


Useless Trivia Du Jour:  Modern jets generally cruise at speeds of 0.75 to 0.85 Mach, which is to say, 75 percent to 85 percent of the speed of sound. The speed of sound is a function of air temperature and pressure, and therefore the speed of a jet is not really "constant" in terms of miles per hour, but varies by atmospheric conditions. In general, modern jets fly at about 420 to 580 miles per hour or 680 to 900 km/h.

1 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007