Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2006 - 6:22 a.m.

Pain in the neck

New Page 1

I HATE waking up in the morning and having back pain.  I will sometimes, during the night, and I know not how, get some kind of nerve pull, or pinched nerve in my back, between my shoulders, that makes it almost impossible for me to turn my head without looking like some bad 80's robot dancer or a zombie.  I can't tilt my head back either, which makes washing my hair a little difficult.  4 Advil and an hour later and it still hurts.  And the pain isn't just in my back or when I try to turn  my head, it hurts in my chest too.  Today its on my right side.  Usually though, it works itself out in a couple of days.  And it hasn't happened in a while, so I guess I can't really complain all that much.

Tarik's grandmother is having her trepanation today so since my mother in law will be at the hospital all day with her, Travis will be coming to work with me.  When he was 6 months old, this was very easy because I could just leave him in his stroller all day, or, make a pallet for him on the floor and he wouldn't really go anywhere.  Now that he is a walking machine, today will be a challenge.  I am going to be extremely busy today and it is going to be tough to be able to get any work done.  There is not really anywhere in my work area that I can set up for him to roam around in, and he is going to get restless and bored and fussy.  I am going to bring my portable DVD player to work with me today in hopes that any Baby Einstein videos I play for him will not go unwatched and will keep him occupied, to an extent.

And of course, since I have more than an extra hour to myself this morning since I don't have to take him to his grandmother's, I woke up EXTRA early instead of sleeping in, because that is what my body wanted to do.  I didn't even have a chance to argue with my brain about it waking up before the alarm went off.   I just did, and then Foo Fighters came on the radio.  I could think of worse things to wake up to.


Song Virus du Jour:  "Augustus Gloop" ~ By Danny Elfman, from "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory"


Useless Trivia du Jour:  Being a Danny Elfman fan, it is notable that he was born in Amarillo, Texas.

1 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007