Thursday, Jan. 19, 2006 - 5:49 a.m.

The Boss Procrastinates

New Page 1

*Sigh*  I know I should start archiving my older entries so the list of entries on my "older" page doesn't turn into one huge ass long monstrosity.  But I don't really have time in the evenings to do it, and in the mornings I really don't have time either.  Heck, I really don't have time to do entries, but I do anyway.  I would make my page changes from work but I have neither Dreamweaver, nor the quicker and sometimes easier Front Page to work with.  Why my MS Office Suite is without FP, I don't know.  I don't want to go online and buy it either seeing as I really don't want to plunk down 100 bucks of my own cash for an application to use at work, for my own personal use.  Actually, I try to save my free time at work for other personal duties like opening my personal mail.  

I don't check my mail box very often as it is several blocks away from me in one of those "communal" mailbox monstrosities, and in the opposite direction out of the neighborhood I travel going to and coming from work.  So it fills up quickly, as it is really only large enough to hold one of the old Sears catalogs, and I break down and go out of my way every two weeks or so to retrieve it.  I have a huge pile of bills sitting on my desk at work right now, half of which I am sure are overdue, because even though my intentions are there, I usually don't have time at work to take care of them because I have to answer the damn phone on average every 7 minutes, a wonderful and fulfilling use of my college education.  

Then there are days like yesterday, where my boss puts off two, count 'em TWO VERY important filings for the same day, with multiple documents, many of which are multiple pages and must be typed from scratch.  I LOVE it when he does that to me.  And I had Travis with me yesterday, and God bless him he was being such a good boy, but could not keep his hands off of my mouse, keyboard, wrist rest, mousepad, telephone, the cords under my desk, the plugs in the wall, my trashcan, and any paperclip or rogue staple on the floor he could find.  So I had to stop every few seconds to tell him "no" or to take something from him before he put it in his mouth never to be seen again, well, except in the "end."  I finally had to hand him off to the receptionists who have a nice large area and not much that he can get into, so I could get some work done.  God bless Pat and Celia for being such good sports and really seeming to adore my kid.  Thankfully he did not descend into the fussy mess that I was anticipating.  He never really napped yesterday either and fell asleep last night before 9.

I am glad they moved "Lost" back an hour this season because I would never get to see it as for some reason, I now cannot get home before 7:30.  I honestly think that the traffic is much worse this year than this time last year because of all of the displaced Katrina victims here now.  There are just that many more people in Houston clogging up the freeways.   I am still debating whether or not to quit my job and be a full time mom and "move" to Jordan for a couple of months.


Song Virus du Jour:  "Everlong" ~ Foo Fighters


Useless Trivia du Jour

The term foo fighter was used by Allied aircraft pilots in World War II to describe various UFOs or mysterious aerial phenomena seen in the skies over Europe and the Pacific theatre. Contemporary witnesses often assumed that the foo fighters were secret weapons employed by the enemy. Despite these fears, foo fighters (whatever they might have been) were apparently never reported to have harmed or tried to harm anyone.

A photograph of alleged foo fighters is available at this external link: [1]

Though usually thought of as blobs of light or fire, several different types of reported phenomena were classed as "foo fighters".

0 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007