Wednesday, Feb. 01, 2006 - 5:51 a.m.

I need Mary Poppins

New Page 1

Tarik's grandmother was finally released from the hospital yesterday and looks and feels about what you would expect.  I suppose she is no worse for the wear, but she is sure glad to be out of there.  For the time being, she and grandfather will be living at my mother in law's and staying in her bedroom which we cleared out and cleaned up over the weekend.  We don't know how long they will be staying there.

This has presented a new issue for me.  My mother in law told me that I will need to make other arrangements for Travis' care a couple of times a week.  So what to do?  Well, I could find an in home babysitter a couple of times a week, which will take some footwork and time at  work to accomplish.  But then there is the issue that I can't even seem to be able to make a phone call to Travis' doctor when needed because every time I pick up the phone to do so it rings or Mike hollers at me because he needs me for something, and then I get derailed and forget.  Daycare centers are most likely out because as far as I know, and from what most people have told me, they will not do one or two days a week.  You pay for the entire week or month regardless of how many days your child is there.  Then there is the issue of my work schedule.  My hours are 8:30 to 5:30, or more accurately, 8:30 until we are finished for the evening. Most days I don't actually leave work until close to, or after 6:00 pm.  The soonest I could get to a day care center around my home would be 6:45.  If I actually left at 5:30, I might be able to make it by 6:15.  The issue here is that most day care centers only stay open til 6:00 or 6:30, and I would never be able to get there in time to pick him up.  And from what I understand, they are fond of calling Child Protective Services on parents who are late picking up their children.  I would be forced to leave work on time to get him, but still, Mike has to have someone there to assist him until he is done, and so it looks like this is not an option.  And no, my mother in law will not go out of her way to go pick him up in the evening.  But what would happen?  Would Mike REALLY tell me that I cannot leave to go pick him up?  And I know I am being paid, but I AM at work by 8:30 everyday, and he doesn't walk in the door til 9:00 or later.  So why do I have to be the one to cater to his schedule?  And if we have so much stuff to do that is so freaking important and hot button, why can't he get his ass into the office sooner?

Yesterday, having this information, I presented it to Mike and asked him if I could adjust my hours to come in from 8:00 to 5:00.  He said no.  He HAS to have someone late every Friday and Monday and be there basically at his beck and call whenever needed, and he can't have me leaving in the middle of work, i.e. actually on time or even early.  I told him that I didn't want to quit my job, but the length of my day is really starting to get to me.  The earliest I am ever home is 7:30 with traffic, having to drive out so far to pick up Travis and turn around to go back home.  He would not budge, instead saying maybe I should get another job closer to home.  I don't want to look for another job.  My work history is horrible, and I like (for the most part) the people I work for and with in the building.  In all, this is the best job I will ever be able to get.  I am the one person at our firm who really REALLY needs to have some kind of flex hours, and am the one person who can't have it.  I am usually one of the first 4 or 5 people in the building every morning, and usually the last admin from our firm to leave every night.

Suffice it to say that my anxiety level is up again, any I don't feel well.  My stomach hurts of course, and I just have general nagging anxiety.  Suggestions anyone?  I know what Nina will say.


Song Virus du Jour:  "Spoon Man" ~ Soundgarden


Useless Trivia du Jour:  People need to read Snopes more often so they stop forwarding stupid emails about crap that's not true.

2 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007