Thursday, Feb. 02, 2006 - 5:56 a.m.

Still pondering work situation

New Page 1

Well, I drafted a resignation letter.  I have not given it to Mike yet.  I just want everyone to know though, he is not a bad guy.  Far from it.  Think about this:  he hired me knowing I was pregnant, in fact, he was one of the first people to know I was pregnant and he and his wife were probably the first to suggest I was pregnant (this was during the production of the The Wizard of Oz that I directed in early 2004, in which he played the lion and she played Glinda).  They even gave me my first baby gift.  Only a month after I started working for him, he was gracious enough to allow me to go on vacation for two weeks to England to meet up with Tarik.  Then only 6 months after I started working for him, I went on a 14 week maternity leave.  Only a month after I returned from that, I again got a two week vacation to meet up with Tarik in the Bahamas.  I have been given the time needed to attend to Travis' doctors appointments, promotional appearances and activities for the Renaissance Festival, and days off when Tarik was home this last trip.  He has not minded when Travis has had to come to work with me, on numerous occasions.  We are both involved in the community theater scene in Houston, and that is in fact how we met.  I would cast Mike in a second in any role suited for him.  We help each other out with our theatrical endeavors.

But litigation attorneys are a breed apart.  Work begins when they get into the office and is not finished until it is finished.  Fridays ALWAYS mean late and Mondays generally are as well.  If something has to be filed with the court on a certain day, that means it HAS to be filed.  And you work on it until it is done and out the door.  I honestly don't want to give up my position there, but if I am not going to be able to put Travis in day care for a couple of days a week and then ensure that I will be able to pick him up in time, then I don't know what else to do but resign and be a full time mom.  There is a day care near-ish the office that does partial weeks, M-W-F, or T-Th care, but they close at 6:00 pm.  This would be great if they could fit Travis in.  And if I knew I was going to have to work late, I could go pick him up and bring him back to the office and continue to work on what needs to get done.  I can't bring him to work on the days that my MIL needs off anymore because he is just to active and into everything and I spend most of my time chasing him down rather than doing work.  It is not productive time.

But with as much as I spend on gas each month, around $350, coupled with babysitting costs per month, I approximate $600, that is almost half of my take home pay.  I looked at in home babysitting, and that seems to start around $8.00/hour.  Twice a week (22 hours) would be over $700/month.  Maybe when I present Mike with an ultimatum, a resignation letter, we can work out some kind of compromise.  Surely he can let me go early twice a week to get the little guy.  And when I say early, I mean at 5:00 regardless of whether or not we are done.  There are other admins with our firm and his son who seems to be doing most of the paralegal work I thought I was hired to do. (His son is 23 and is applying to law schools right now.) 

No one ever said raising and taking care of your kids would be a piece of cake.


Song Virus du Jour:  "Sad Songs Say So Much" ~ Elton John


Useless Trivia du Jour:  Please read about an up coming e-virus attack called the Kama Sutra virus.

0 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007