Friday, Feb. 03, 2006 - 5:54 a.m.

*Let's out a huge sigh*

New Page 1

Well, I couldn't hand in my resignation yesterday either because Mike was substitute teaching all day for a public service program for the Houston Bar Association.� Then he walked in RIGHT as I was getting ready to leave for the day and and had a few things that needed to get done before he left to go to Dallas today for a deposition.� Well, around 4:45 we started receiving several documents on the fax machine that were pertinent to a hearing taking place today for that Harris County Constable that I wrote about previously.� Mike was to attend the hearing but now can't because he is under Court order to be in Dallas so two of the other attorneys in the office are to attend.� I made copies for everyone and one attorney who had already left for the day happens to call in and tells us he wants them scanned and emailed to him.� Fine, I was ready to do it and email them, but Mike took them to that attorney's paralegal and told her to scan them, and she got up from her desk in a huff and walked past me complaining that it seemed like she was the only one around there who knew how to scan documents.� I felt this was directed at me and that put me in a foul place.� But I followed her and told her that I could do it, or, while she was scanning, I could email the other documents he requested, and she retorted "No, its fine."� Alright.� I offered to help.� But then I felt like I needed to give Mike my resignation right then and there and asked if I could speak to him and he said no, he didn't have time and I was just trying to pick a fight.� Whatever.� And before I walked out the door, I made sure I offered my assistance to her again and she said no.� So today I am sure my co-workers will be bitching about me again for one of them having to "do my work" as they are wont to do.� I don't feel good about going in today.� In fact, I am just downright uncomfortable around my co-workers.� Its one of those situations where, if they are all sitting and talking togeher, the conversation stops as soon as I enter the room.� I hate that feeling.

Other issues of note:

Babysitting:� Still no luck finding part time care for Travis.� I posed the offer to my sister in law, but, seeing as she never wakes up before 10:00 a.m. we are probably s.o.l on that one.� She said she will have to think about it as it would mean she would have to be out of the house by 7:00 a.m. on the days she would babysit.� I called one of the day cares near my office that does partial weeks.� No one answered the phone, nor did they return my calls.� I have asked around and nobody knows any babysitters who will do partial weeks.

Andrea Yates:� She was released from jail yesterday.� I have mixed thoughts and feelings about her.� Yes, she DID kill her children, there is no argument there.� But is she guilty of murder?� I suppose technically in the State of Texas she is.� But my thoughts are that she is sick.� VERY sick and there is something fundamentally wrong with her.� To harm your children is so far removed from the essence of being a mother, that there HAS to be some kind of illness there.� Yes, post partum psychosis exists, but there is something else wrong.� Munchausen by Proxy is a syndrome in which women harm their children in order to seek repeated medical attention and attention for themselves.� So there are precedents here.

Academy Awards:� I really just don't care about them anymore.

I think that does it for today.


Song Virus du Jour:� "Limelight" ~ Rush


Useless Trivia du Jour:� I have NEVER watched a single episode of "Survivor."� In fact, I don't watch "reality" TV at all.

0 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007