Saturday, Feb. 04, 2006 - 10:25 a.m.

Its done, I'm done

New Page 1

I did it.� I submitted my resignation yesterday.� Granted, I don't know if Mike got it or not because he was out all day yesterday driving back from a deposition in Dallas.� So I left him a letter on his chair with a note to call me over the weekend to discuss.� I am just sick of being the office pariah and sick of my co-workers ready misperceptions about me.� Yesterday morning, one of the "ladies" I work with demanded to know why I had "raked her over the coals" (if I remember her exact words) regarding her working hours.� I was taken aback because I have never done such a thing.� I explained to her that when I was pleading my case to Mike to try to change my hours, that he stated no one worked special hours, and I replied that she was afforded the opportunity to work 8:00 to 5:00.� She quickly corrected me, in a snide tone, that she works 8:00 t0 5:15 to compensate being able to come in and leave at that time, and that the attorney she works for has a different practice than my boss.� I told her that Mike had made that clear to me and that he has different time requirements.� I then asked her if she would be willing to tell me who informed her of what I had said, and again, snidely replied, "No, I don't think so."� Fine.� Don't give me a chance to defend myself against false conceptions.� Its always been like that.� They are going to believe about me what they want to believe, regardless if they have it wrong.

Another example....� when it became clear that Hurricane Rita was going to become a Cat. 5 storm, my parents called me early that Wednesday morning before it hit and told me to get the hell out of Dodge and up to Dallas.� I was already on my way into work and called Mike to let him know.� He asked me to just go ahead and come on in, clear out my office of any and everything that I could, and I could leave.� I went in, packed up everything that I could carry or move, took painting and artwork off the walls in the main hallways of the building and then left a few hours later.� On my way out, the "ladies" were all sitting outside smoking, I told them all to be safe and God bless.� Not one of them even acknowledged me.�

When we were back at the office a few days later, people were telling their tales of being stuck on the freeway and whatnot.� A few days later I learned from one of the attorneys that my lovely co-workers had been bitching about me and were pissed because they somehow got it in their heads that when I left the office, I went straight home and took a nap.� And when I enquired about this misconception, I was told that I actually TOLD one of the attorneys I went home and took a nap, and the others were pissed because they "had to do my work."� I did manage to explain that when I left the office, I went all over looking for duct tape and supplies, then went home and had to secure the entire house by myself, move all the items from the patio, tape up all the windows, pack, do a video inventory of the house, disconnect all the computers and pack them up, get the pets ready, and a whole bunch of other crap.� At 10:00 p.m. I crawled into bed totally exhausted basically to take a nap so I could get up a few hours later to leave in the early morning hours.� And then this woman, who is the one referenced above, just looked at me, and said, "Well, we all had to do your work.� I'm a single mom too you know."� I was so sickened by this that I just looked at her shocked for a moment, and turned and walked out.� Yes she is a single mom, but she has two teenagers who are perfectly capable of doing thing for themselves and I was having to do all of this by myself, with an 8 month old.� Its perceptions of me like this that really have me almost HATING them.�

I just can't do it anymore.� I am sick of taking the high road and being friendly, which at this point has pretty much become disingenuous.� I hate the anxiety I feel every day going in to work knowing that my greetings to them will go mostly ignored.� I hate the anticipation of when one of them will snap at me and be rude.� Oh, I have addressed this with Mike before, but his reply was that there is nothing he can do about it.� Well, wrong.� He just WON'T do anything about it.� I am not about firing people, but, in this case I would make an exception.� When you have someone who is openly hostile to one of her co-workers for NO REASON, then SHE is a problem employee.� When she CREATES tension in the work place, then she is a problem, and she should be fired.� When the problem has been ongoing, before you even went to work there, it is a problem. But he won't address it with her, talk to her, reprimand her, or fire her.� So I am going instead because I just don't want to deal with it anymore.


Song Virus du Jour:� "The Boys Are Back in Town" ~ The Busboys


Useless Trivia du Jour:� I still think "Delirious," Eddie Murphy's 1982 concert, is one of the funniest things I have ever heard.

2 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007