Tuesday, Feb. 07, 2006 - 5:53 a.m.

What we have here is a failure to communicate

New Page 1

Grrrr!!  What part of "I tender my resignation" is not understandable?  After much anticipation and anxiety of the impending deed, I did it, I sat down in front of Mike, explained to him that my childcare options were tricky, complicated and difficult to resolve, so that it was best that I resign and be a stay at home mom.  Of course had I added that I really DO want to stay home with Travis and be a full time mom, that might have driven the point home.  But instead, Mike looked at me, and said he needed to think about it, and he put my resignation letter in his desk to be discussed later, and maybe something could be worked out.  I understand that he needs me there, and sometimes I wonder what in the heck for.  I took a reassessment of my day and realized that his son does most of the "paralegal" work that I thought I was hired to do, research, drafting briefs, motions, and whatnot, and other various assorted duties, while I basically answer the phones all day, make copies, send faxes, make phone calls, and other duties without much substance.  Then when he leaves around 3:00 or 4:00, I pick up where he left off, and am the one who has to stay late, reformatting and fixing what he has done and sacrificing my home life. He leaves to go teach SAT prep courses.  His son is 23 and is applying to law schools.  And Mike is perfectly within his right do delegate these duties to his son.  Its just that it makes ME feel like I am not really there to do anything of substance and my day is wasted.  So I am there just to be a secretary, an antiquated word and title which I loathe because it harkens back to the day when admin assistants were there just to take dictation, short hand (who learns how to do THAT anymore?), and be seen and not heard.  It also creates the impression that I have no higher education, that I didn't go to college, don't have a brain, and am just an automaton.  I HATE that.

One really nice thing DID happen to me yesterday in spite of this.  One of the attorneys in the building who is a sole practitioner, took me aside for about 10 minutes yesterday and told me how much he would hate to see me go because he really likes me, appreciates me as a person, and as someone who will spar with him on a myriad of topics, most notably historical debates including ancient Roman plumbing systems and the sophistication that was achieved in this engineering field.  I guess we are both a couple of nerds, and have a good time debating these topics.  He explained that he needed me there to keep him sharp and that he appreciates having lively conversations outside the realm of law.  He was very flattering and said he would really miss me greatly, and pleaded with me to work out a solution, and that the child care issue was just a problem that was not without a resolution.  I was extremely touched and left his office crying.

I asked Mike later if he was hacked at me, and he said no. But I could tell this was causing him a considerable amount of stress.  Well, I am stressed too.  I have the stress of the daily goings on at the office and Mike's stress trickles down to me, the stress of dealing with my daily multi hour commute.  The stress of being at home alone with a toddler, running a two parent household by myself, dealing with the needs and demands of my mother in law and the considerable amount of stress she is experiencing right now, and trying to stay sane and please everyone at the same time.  When I got pregnant I weighed 160 pounds.  I got on the scale yesterday and weighed in at 144.  Most of that extra post baby weight loss is due to stress.  I don't eat well, usually lunch, and lots of times not really in the mood for dinner.  I have acid reflux which I didn't have until I went back to work which causes me stomach pain every day.  I have pain in my chest right behind my sternum of late which is more acid reflux.  I am developing carpal tunnel in my left arm and hand which can range from pain, to numbness, to a weird cold sensation right below my elbow in my muscle.  I am pretty sure I have IBS which is only exacerbated by stress.  My toilet feels wanted and has high self esteem because I need it often.

Sigh, I guess we will see what today brings.  Hopefully it will mean Mike will solicit for resumes for a new admin.


Song Virus du Jour:  "Leave It" ~ Yes


Useless Trivia du Jour: A really BAD pun:  In a small country pub, all the patrons became quite used to the pub owners little dog being around the bar, so were quite upset when one day the little dog died. Everyone met to decide how they could remember the little dog. The decision was to cut off his tail and stick it up behind the bar to remind everyone of the little dog's wagging tail. The little dog went up to heaven and was about to run through the pearly gates when he was stopped by Saint Peter, who questioned the little dog as to where he was going. The little dog said, "I have been a good dog - so I am going into heaven where I belong!". Saint Peter replied, "Heaven is a place of perfection, you can not come into heaven without a tail, where is your tail?" The little dog explained what had happened back on earth. St Peter told the little dog to go back down to earth and retrieve his tail. The little dog protested that it was now the middle of the night on earth, but St Peter would not change his mind. So the little dog went back down to earth and scratched on the door of the pub until the bartender who lived upstairs came down and opened the door. "My goodness, it is the spirit of the little dog. What can I do for you?", asked the bartender. The little dog explained that he wasn't allowed into heaven without his tail, and he needed it back. The bartender replied, "I would really like to help you, but my liquor license doesn't allow me to retail spirits after hours!"

2 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007