Thursday, Feb. 09, 2006 - 5:59 a.m.

Bitchy women, come on down!

New Page 1

And wouldn't you know it, no one said a word to me yesterday.  Well, Mike's son sent me an email and one of the other attorneys said something, but the other co-workers were tight lipped.  Maybe they don't know, but whatever.  Day after day I try at least once to engage them in conversation, or ask some kind of question to try to be friendly and engaging and am usually met with terse, one word answers that pretty much hints to me that they don't want me talking to them.  Even if one of them would take the initiative and say hello to me first, that would be a major improvement.  But its never going to change.  Its awkward for me.  And who wants to feel awkward when they go into the work place every day?  My official reason for resigning may be on paper and for child care reasons, but I know and Mike knows its because of my "relationship" or personality conflicts with them.  And I suppose you can't get rid of half your staff just because they are bitchy. Hell, half of America would be out of a job if that were the case.

One of these women, who is the real problem and eggs on the others I am sure, has a list of all the office birthdays hanging on the wall in her office.  I noticed once that mine was the only one not on there.  That's fine.  Mine was yesterday.  Actually, no one in the building knew until I got flowers from my husband.  My boss didn't even know, but he was gone by the time the flowers got there and he will be gone today and tomorrow to Dallas for depositions in this case that just will not die.  So if they knew later in the day, they said nothing to me.  Its just been such an uphill battle with them and I have lost.  I know though that I don't have to deal with it for very much longer, but the time is going to move slow in the interim with these day to day struggles.

And honestly, I am not the only one in the building that is treated this way.  Its just that other people have the option of just totally ignoring them because they don't work for our firm.  I, on the other hand, DO work with these people and feel I am obligated to try to get along with them.  I do have to speak to them on occasion for work related issues.  But then of course, I learned my lesson about that once when I mistakenly asked one, quite innocuously and honestly, if part of a MAJOR and EXTREMELY important brief we were working together on was finished, because I knew Mike would want to know.  She answered me yes, then 20 minutes later, in front of our other co-workers, ripped into me and bitched me out for "checking on her work," that I was NOT to ask her anything about any of the work she was doing, and that only Mike had the right to ask her anything.  And if he needed to know something he could ask her himself.  And the proceeded to demand to know why I was checking on her work.  Well, I think I kept my cool in her moment of hostility and said I was just following up for him, but she just kept on.  This went on for about five minutes.  And everyone, either out of shock, or they just didn't think they needed to intervene, just sat there and said nothing.  That is the kind of treatment I receive at the hands of this woman, hostility and just flat out meanness, for NO reason other than to attack me and make me look bad, IN FRONT OF OTHER PEOPLE!  It was downright unprofessional and hostile and uncalled for.  I later told Mike about it, who of course just basically shrugged his shoulders and said "oh well."  So anytime he needs anything from her, he has to call her himself.  I don't, and won't.  Thank GOD she will be out of my life in a few weeks.


Song Virus du Jour:  The theme from "The Price is Right" (I know, totally random)


Useless Trivia du Jour:  Bob Barker attended Drury College in Springfield, Missouri on a basketball scholarship, earned a degree in economics, then went on to join the Navy to fight in WWII.

1 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007