Friday, Feb. 10, 2006 - 5:35 a.m.

I DO Support the Troops

New Page 1

A very dear friend of mine has a 19 year old son in the Marines serving in and around Falluja, Iraq.� They lost their first batallion member on February 1st.��� His name was Pfc. Sean T. Cardelli, 20, of Downers Grove, Ill.� He died from enemy small arms fire while conducting combat operations near Fallujah.� He was assigned to 3rd Battalion, 5th Marine Regiment, 1st Marine Division, I Marine Expeditionary Force, and was out of Camp Pendleton, California.� During Operation Iraqi Freedom, his unit was attached to 2nd Marine Division, II Marine Expeditionary Force (Forward).

I know my friend is terrified for his son as I know all mothers and fathers in this same situation are terrified for their children.� I don't usually use this blog for political rants as I chose to keep my feelings about those kinds of things to myself, but because this hits somewhat close to home I felt I needed to address it.� While my feelings about the war may not be favorable, I support our troops 100%.� And just because one doesn't� have a favorable opinion of the war, does not mean that person feels the same way about the armed forces over there.� They are there to do a job, most don't WANT to be there, or be there with their lives in such danger, and I am sure most are fearful for their lives.� I cannot imagine having my own son over there, with his life in imminent danger each and every day.� I tend to think that most people who are of the sentiment "Bring the Troops Home" mean just that, bring them home.� Let them come home alive, to their parents, husbands, wives, brothers, sisters, and children.� Its not anti-war rhetoric.� Its expressing the desire for there to be no more loss of life.�

I look at Cindy Sheehan who lost her son and whose grief I cannot begin to imagine, and I cannot put myself in her shoes and I cannot criticize her for her actions because I just don't know what it is like to lose a child.� Do I feel that perhaps she could have made different use of her protest energies in keeping her son's memory alive and perhaps starting a foundation to honor his legacy?� Yes of course, but again, I have not walked in her shoes.� I don't EVER want to be in her shoes.� I remember right after Travis was born declaring that he was forbidden from joining the Marines.� Air Force is OK.� No Marines.

So to all the mothers and fathers, and sisters and brothers, and wives and husbands and children who have a parent, brother, sister, mother or father or any other family member serving overseas, I pray that your loved one finds his or her way home to you safely.


Song Virus du Jour:� "There Goes My Hero" ~ Foo Fighters


Useless Trivia du Jour:� Get your neat birthday calendar here.� Enter your birthdate and this site will spit out all kinds of useless facts about when you were born.� Here's my info:�

You entered: 2/8/1969
Your date of conception was on or about 18 May 1968 which was a Saturday.

You were born on a Saturday under the astrological sign Aquarius.
Your Life path number is 8.

The Julian calendar date of your birth is 2440260.5.
The golden number for 1969 is 13.
The epact number for 1969 is 11.
The year 1969�was not a leap year.

Your birthday falls into the Chinese year beginning 1/30/1968 and ending 2/16/1969.
You were born in the Chinese year of the Monkey.

The date of Easter on your birth year was Sunday, 6 April 1969.
The date of Ash Wednesday (the first day of Lent) on your birth year was Wednesday 19 February 1969.
The date of Whitsun (Pentecost Sunday) in the year of your birth was Sunday 25 May 1969.
The date of Whisuntide in the year of your birth was Sunday 1 June 1969.
The date of Rosh Hashanah in the year of your birth was Saturday, 13 September 1969.
The date of Passover in the year of your birth was Thursday, 3 April 1969.
The date of Mardi Gras on your birth year was Tuesday 18 February 1969.

As of 2/10/2006 6:30:53 AM�EST
You are 37 years old.
You are 444 months old.
You are 1,931 weeks old.
You are 13,516 days old.
You are 324,390 hours old.
You are 19,463,430 minutes old.
You are 1,167,805,853 seconds old.

Your age is the equivalent of a dog that is 5.29001956947162 years old. (You're still chasing cats!)

There are 363 days till your next birthday on which your cake will have 38 candles.

Those 38 candles produce 38 BTUs, or 9,576 calories of heat (that's only 9.5760 food Calories!) .
You can boil 4.34 US ounces of water with that many candles. �

In 1969 there were approximately 3.7 million births in the US.
In 1969 the US population was approximately 179,323,175 people, 50.6 persons per square mile.
In 1969 in the US there were approximately 1,800,000 marriages (9.3%) and 479,000 divorces (2.5%)
In 1969 in the US there were approximately 1,712,000 deaths (9.5 per 1000)
In the US a new person is born approximately every 8 seconds.
In the US one person dies approximately every 12 seconds.

Your birthstone is Amethyst
The Mystical properties of Amethyst

Amethyst is used to increase spiritually
Some lists consider these stones to be your birthstone. (Birthstone lists come from Jewelers, Tibet, Ayurvedic Indian medicine, and other sources)
Bloodstone, Onyx, Moonstone
Your birth tree is
Poplar, the Uncertainty

Looks very decorative, no self-confident behaviour, only courageous if necessary, needs goodwill and pleasant surroundings, very choosy, often lonely, great animosity, artistic nature, good organiser, tends to philosophy, reliable in any situation, takes partnership serious.

There are 318 days till Christmas 2006!
There are 331 days till Orthodox Christmas!

The moon's phase on the day you were
born was waning gibbous.

0 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007