Tuesday, Feb. 14, 2006 - 5:31 a.m.

Got VD?

New Page 1

I'm not going to write about Valentine's Day today.  There's nothing to say about it really except its a day to give and receive what I deem, and excuse the bluntness here, cheesy gifts that would only be presented on Valentine's Day.  OK, so I DID write about Valentine's Day.  And OK, maybe I do have something to say on the subject.  Its never really been one of my favorite days because until I was married, I never really had a certain special someone at the time the day rolled around with whom to exchange little niceties.  The only person I could ever really count on from whom to receive a Valentine's gift was my father, who every year gave me a box of chocolate covered cherries.  Yea Dad!  With Tarik being gone, Valentine's Day has sort of gone by the wayside.  My birthday is always the week before and our wedding anniversary is about a week and a half later, so that's alot of gift giving and receiving to be done in one month.  But I have enlisted the help of my father in law the last couple of years to get Tarik something appropriate for the occasion, and he has not disappointed me.  I know that first year Tarik was in Jordan he really appreciated getting flowers, even if they were not from me directly, but requested by me.

When I say cheesy gifts, I mean little stuffed animals, boxes of candy and plastic flowers that are bought at the last minute.  While I suppose its all fine, its just stuff that will clutter up the house.  I don't really like chocolate all that much, and flowers are nice, but they wilt and fade and have to be thrown out eventually.  I am a fan of jewelry of course, but I don't really care much for heart shaped jewelry.  Never have.  Heart shaped rings, earrings, pendants, I really don't care for heart shaped jewelry.  My folks gave me a huge heart shaped amethyst pendant once several years ago on a necklace and I have never worn it.  Its not that its not pretty, I just don't dig heart shaped jewelry.  Oh well.

Having said all the above though, I do know that it IS nice to be thought of on Valentine's Day, especially if you are not in a romantic relationship with anyone, and something as simple as a single rose is much appreciated on the occasion.  A couple of my girlfriends at work I know would appreciate something, so I may try to stop by the store on my way into work this morning and pick something up for them, because I love them, and I am going to miss them when I finally leave my job.


Song Virus du Jour:  "Close to You" ~ The Carpenters


Useless Trivia du JourSaint Valentine or Saint Valentinus refers to one of at least three martyred saints of ancient Rome. The feast of Saint Valentine was formerly celebrated on February 14 by the Roman Catholic Church until the revised calendar 1969

According to the Catholic Encyclopedia, the saint whose feast was celebrated on the day now known as St. Valentine's Day was possibly one of the three martyred men who lived in the late 3rd century during the reign of Emperor Claudius II (died 270):

It's believed that the priest and the bishop Valentinus are each buried along the Via Flaminia outside Rome, at different lengths from the city. In the 12th century, the Roman city gate known in ancient times as the Porta Flaminia (now known as the Porta del Popolo) was known as the Gate of St. Valentine.

1 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007