Friday, Mar. 03, 2006 - 8:32 a.m.

Goth, or not?

I never in a million years thought I would say this but

I never in a million years thought I would say this but.....

THANK GOD FOR TELETUBBIES!

*ducks and runs*

Its sooooo not goth.  But, then again, is it?  I have to admit, this show is just a teensy weensy bit disturbing (actually, I wish Teletubbies were on when I was in college *wink*).  But Travis really seems to enjoy the show because he sits there and grins like the Dickens, and goes up to the TV to get a closer look.  He also laughs out loud at the show, so whatever makes him happy, makes me happy. There is also that Boohbah thing that I have not seen on tv, but the website is wicked cool.  I am also trying to get him interested in Mister Rogers, which may take another year since there isn't any animation and its grown ups talking on screen.  He also likes Sesame Street, which is a good thing too.  I got the first season of The Muppet Show on DVD and have been trying to get him to watch those as well.  And while Baby Einstein is still good for him to watch, those have kind of gone by the wayside for now, on hiatus if you will.  Now, The Muppet Show is just as much for adults as it is for kids, and I really want to get the second season on DVD because I think that's the season that Alice Cooper was the special guest at Halloween.  I'm really just trying out different things to see what will hold his interest.  Last Sunday we watched Shrek, Shrek 2, Robin Hood (Disney), Fellowship of the Ring, and The Two Towers.  He didn't really get into any of them.  I'll keep trying though.

I know I've gone on and on about quitting my job because of my hours and my coworkers, but really, there is a larger issue here.  Travis is learning things all the time, but I am not the one teaching him.  How many times in the last year have I really been able to sit down and read a book to him, or play a game with him?  I can probably count on two hands.  Not getting home til almost 7:30 each night kind of eats into that time what with fur babies to tend to, my mouth and his mouth to feed, clothes to change, dishes to wash, etcetera, ad nauseum.  There is little quality time to spend with him.  My last day at work, as a permanent employee is most likely next Friday.  I will then be on call for temp work and extra help on certain cases.  That way, as a part timer, I can have plenty of time with him and still be able to work a little bit and have a little extra money, and some time out of the house.


Song Virus du Jour:  (and I really hate to admit this)  The Teletubbies Theme Song


Useless Trivia du Jour:  Poopie diapers left one day longer in the trash can don't start to smell any better than the day before.

4 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007