Monday, Mar. 06, 2006 - 6:08 a.m.

Oscar! The Day After!

New Page 1

OK, sooooo, the Academy Awards.� I suppose its required to write about them the day after, which I will do, and it will be an underwhelming entry as these Awards were underwhelming.� Just to start off with a little note, I saw only one, count 'em ONE, film that was nominated for anything, because when do I have time to go to the movies?� Anyway, I saw� Revenge of the Sith.� It was nominated for make-up.� So I had no vested emotional interest in anything up for grabs last night.

I would never look at Felicity Huffman and think, "She is a really beautiful woman," but I saw her pre-show interview and I thought she looked amazing.� Her dress was beautiful, her make-up and hair were understated, simple and elegant, and I thought she looked simply beautiful.� She really did.

I got a laugh when Tim Burton and Helena Bonham-Carter were interviewed by Chris What's-His-Name and he said to Tim Burton, "Your wife looks beautiful tonight."� They're not married.

I was really hoping Jon Stewart would deliver, but he was trying too hard to be restrained and it showed.� He didn't look comfortable and he didn't have good flow with his delivery.� The tempo was just slightly off.�� But, I would not rule him out to host again.� I think he was just trying to do a good job, and find his place, his beat, and gauge that audience, and the audience was gauging him as well because I am sure that everyone had preconceived notions of what he might deliver.� He needs to be able to be let loose and do what he does best.� I hope they have him back.� I think he could do a real bang up job with this gig.

Salma Hayek almost NEVER misses a fashion step. The dress she wore last night, however, is an exception.� While I liked the color on her immensely, while she was standing behind the microphone giving her little spiel about whatever category she was presenting, all I could think was that her right boob look ENORMOUS.� The front cut of the dress kind of "hid" her left boob behind some pleating and folding that made her shoulder strap, and left her right boob to fend for itself unrestricted and unrestrained.� It was not flattering.

One of these days, Andy Serkis is going to receive an Academy Award just for being Andy Serkis.� Look, I am sure he was well paid for Lord of the Rings and King Kong, but, the characters of Gollum and Kong would not have been, if it were not for him.� And just because HE himself didn't appear on-screen as those characters, he acted and WAS those characters nonetheless.� In the case of Gollum, he did the movements and voiced that character in live action and was basically "airbrushed" out so the facade of the character could take shape.� I have NO problem whatsoever with actors being nominated for work in which they don't "appear" onscreen.� Again, he worked just as hard, if not harder than anyone in the LOTR trilogy, but was not eligible for nomination.� Bah!� It also reminds me of a few years ago when there was buzz that Ellen Degeneres should have been nominated for her voice work in Finding Nemo .� To be able to speak and deliver nonsensical, disjointed dialogue like that takes real talent.� I have tried it, and it is NOT easy.� Perhaps one day the "esteemed" Academy will realize the contributions actors make in non-traditional roles and see fit to recognize and award them for their work as well.

Which leads me to another rant of sorts:� Stunt Men.� Why the Academy will not formally recognize the work these individuals contribute to the film making process is beyond me.� I most certainly believe that the deserve a category onto themselves.� They risk life and limb so the pretty stars don't have to mess up a hair on their heads.� Anyway, I don't want to get nasty, but I think you see where I am going with this one.

Back to the show last night....� I left off with Salma Hayek's boob....� OH!� Who in the WORLD was that most unpleasant looking, unsmiling woman with Larry McMurtry?� I think his writing partner on the Brokeback Mountain screenplay.� She scared me.� She never once smiled the entire show, not giving her acceptance speech, not leaving the stage, not in the audience.� In fact, leaving the stage after her speech she just had this "look" that just gave me shivers, it was almost evil.� I wonder if anyone else noticed it.

Reese Witherspoon:� Class act I have always said, and last night was no exception.� Her acceptance speech was gracious, well articulated, and tributary to those around her.� I hope that the course of her life stays on track and that she doesn't run into any obstacles.� She just seems like someone with a good head on her shoulders.� I hope she doesn't change.

A few additional thoughts:� I really. REALLY loved the set.� It was art deco with old Hollywood flair.� I didn't think Lauren Bacall looked comfortable up there reading off her bit for the film noir tribute, in fact, she appeared to not be able to read the prompter very well at all.� Perhaps she needed glasses and forgot them.� I was feeling a bit uncomfortable at one point and thought she might just stop reading altogether, but she pulled through.� And lastly, ahhhhhh, not one single sighting of Tom Cruise.� Was he even there?� I don't think so, and I don't care.


Song Virus du Jour:� "Ring of Fire" ~ Johnny Cash


Useless Trivia du Jour:�� A girlfriend of mine from the office told me last week that they were going to discuss Brokeback Mountain at church this past Sunday.� Why?� What is there to talk about.� Its a movie.� They apparently don't have a problem with Harry Potter.� So why is THIS so important to discuss at church?� Because its about a same sex relationship?� Again, homosexuals in this country are being vilified more and more.� But before I get on that rant, I suppose I should hear what the good house of the Lord had to say about the movie.� I just don't understand, though, why THIS one little topic, over ALL other issues in the world, HAS to be talked about at church.� I really, REALLY don't.�

0 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007