Friday, Mar. 24, 2006 - 1:19 p.m.

Hey There Lonely Girl

New Page 1

I'm lonely.  I really miss my husband.  I was lonely before I left my job, and in some ways stayed there as long as I did so I wouldn't be AS lonely.  But I don't have anyone to spend my evenings with, and its very quiet here at night, except for the TV, and the dog barking her head off.  Still, I get to chat/talk with him each morning and spend a good portion of each morning online with him.  Modern technology is a wonderful thing.  I know that my mother in law and father in law were often very out of touch when he would be sent overseas to work on projects in places like Libya.  He was there in 1986 working on an irrigation project when he had to be whisked out of there in a hurry right before we bombed Kadaffi's palace.  She didn't know where he was for three days and was absolutely terrified.  Turns out he had gone to his brother's in Beirut, which was no better place to be since Lebanon was in the middle of their civil war.  But he was finally able to get through to her on the phone, which was no easy feat since there were no cell phones then, or at least none for the general public consumption, and the land lines were way less than reliable.  

We are lucky in that we have the internet, email, instant messaging and extremely reliable communications through land lines and cell phones.  It has definitely made this time apart more bearable.  And hubby gets to see his son grow up, in a way, since I am able to send him digital photos almost every day.  And I know how much he appreciates the pics.  Everyone else in his office does as well.  Its funny, he, being the IT manager there, instituted a policy about limited use of the color printer.  Well, the biggest violator of that policy happens to be my father in law, who takes every opportunity he can to print color photos of his grandson.  The ladies in the office also have photos of him around their work areas as well.  Its pretty funny actually.  My little guy is the in office celebrity.  When we went to visit in November I didn't see Travis at one point for almost an hour because they all had him and were playing with him.  I am going back to Jordan in a few weeks, and can only assume it will be like that this next trip.  At least while I am there for a month, I won't be so lonely.


Song Virus du Jour:  "What a Wonderful World" ~ Louis Armstrong


Useless Trivia du Jour:  I will NOT succumb to daytime television while I am home!

1 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007