Tuesday, Mar. 28, 2006 - 11:37 a.m.

THE Worst (But Funniest) Date I Ever Had

I was just cruising around other journals

I was just cruising around other journals, notably Pork Tornado, when I came upon this entry.  It reminded me of nightmare date that I went on once.  Actually, it wasn't such a nightmare as it was a comedy.  I still chuckle when I think about it to this day.

I guess I was about 16 at the time, 1985, and of course in High School.  One of my oldest girlfriends had met a guy, I think ice skating, and she and he didn't hit it off, but she thought that he and I might.  Actually, come to think of it, I think she was friends with his sister.  IN ANY EVENT, he attended Conroe High School, and I attended Westfield High School.  Both schools were in the same UIL district and just down the freeway from each other (to the tune of 20-30 miles) so we competed against each other in sporting events.  I was in marching band and played trumpet.  And guess, what!  He was in marching band and played trumpet as well.  Oh, before I go any further with this, I think he was a senior to my junior, and, here's the kicker, his name was *insert drum roll here* Rocky.  Yes folks, that's right.  Rocky.  Rocky the trumpet playing fool from Conroe High School.

So where was I?  Oh yes, my date.  Well, Rocky, who was not that bad looking and seemed to be a pretty nice guy, asks me out on a date to which I accepted.  The big night came and he drove down from Conroe in his red sports car (I don't remember what kind, but I do remember it was not a typical kind of car one would buy their teenager unless money was to be had).  He was extremely proud of that car and I seem to remember his showing off while driving it, shifting it into gears he probably ought not to have been shifting into.  But, no matter. I was in the car and we were off. After a few miles, he turns and says to me that he hopes I brought socks because we were going bowling.  Well, uh, no, I didn't bring socks becaaaauuuuuuse, I had no idea we were going bowling and that information would have been useful before the start of the evening.  No worries though, I could borrow some of his.  Now, you KNOW when something is not going to go right.  There is that whole chemistry thing that I am firm and full believer in, and I could tell just a few minutes into this date, that it wasn't happening.  And I think I had good reason to believe such.  GOD I love my female intuition.

We shoot back up the freeway, to the tune of 30-ish miles, to a Mexican restaurant and lo and behold, who should be there, or rather, lo and behold, who are we meeting there, no one other than his older sister and her boyfriend.  OK.  Never been on a double date with a guy and his sister before, but, seeing as they get along well enough to actually hang out together like this, maybe things aren't so bad.  But then again.....  Well, I decided I thought this was just a tad weird.  I remember that we ordered fajitas.  Now, in 1985, fajitas were still a relatively new phenom on the cuisine scene and to order them and have them served at your table all sizzling and loud was a theatrical presentation in which people would turn their heads and ooh and aah.  I made a point to eat LOTS of grilled onions.  I think you can figure out why.  When we finished with dinner, we were outside and Rocky made a point to mention my consumption of such, saying something along the lines of I would "not be seeing any fireworks tonight."  But then he still tried to kiss me.  He was actually coming on kind of strong, and I, uh, didn't feel comfortable with this.  Like I said, I could tell from the get go that the chemistry was not there for me.

We then went to his house, which was right smack dab on the shores of Lake Conroe.  And it was quite the "crib" so to speak.  It was a gorgeous huge house.  I don't remember the details, but do remember that it was simply lovely.  His father I seem to recall had an electric train on a track that was mounted on a shelf going around the recreation room.  That was cool.  Oh yeah, his sister and her boyfriend went back to the house with us.  Well, at some point we went out onto the balcony where a telescope stood so we could get a good look at Halley's Comet which was in the vicinity at the time.  That was nice.  The tail could be seen.  At some point though, he wanted to make out.  I was not in the mood for this because, well, I just wasn't attracted to him.  I don't remember the extent of the kissing, but, I did feel that my space was being invaded.  I am quite sure that I told him at some point that I didn't want to be kissing him, or something to that effect.

We went back inside and while he was off doing something, I pulled his sister aside to let her know that he was coming on a little too strong, and it was making me uncomfortable.  I sat and talked with his parents for a while and he then came in and pulled me aside, in kind of a huff I might add, and informed me that we were leaving.  We got out to the car and he started ripping me a new one because his sister had told him what I had told her about my not wanting him kissing on me and coming on so strong.  She also added her own opinions as to my mental stability and maturity for expressing my displeasure at his advances, which he kindly reported back to me.  I thought that was a nice touch seeing as these comments were coming from a brother and sister who could not go on dates without each other.  He also added his own little comment that I was just a "little girl."  Well, I replied that "yes, I was a girl, seeing as I was only 16."  We shouted at each other the whole drive back to my house, and honestly, it was all I could do to not laugh in his face.  Here is a guy, trying his best to rip me to shreds because he couldn't stand it that I thought his actions were inappropriate and said so.  So, a car trip that would normally take 40-ish minutes to get me back to my house took only about 20, and he was shifting into all kinds of gears he should not have been shifting into.  Come to think of it, the car was an automatic and not a standard, so he was probably frying the hell out of his transmission.  We pulled up in front of my house, I let myself out of the car, received a few more choice words from him which I am sure made me laugh, and walked myself to the door.  It was around 9:30.  I had permission that night to stay out til 11:00.  I told my parents what happened and they were none too glad that I was home as well.  I don't think I ever saw him again.  To this day I laugh when I think about it.  I am proud of myself too for standing up for myself when I was in a situation in which I was not comfortable.


Song Virus du Jour:  "The Dog End of a Day Gone By" ~ Love and Rockets (my absolute favorite song by them)


Useless Trivia du Jour:  Uh, here is the weather headed my way at this moment:

 

 

1 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007