Saturday, Apr. 01, 2006 - 8:20 a.m.

Nothing Witty to Title This

New Page 1

GAH!  I hate it when I start to compose something really profound while I am falling asleep, and then cannot for the life of me remember what it was that I was going to propound upon once I wake up.  Well, OK, maybe the content was not going to be PROFOUND, but certainly worth reading.  I also hate falling asleep before the end of a show,  notably CSI, which I watch on Friday nights.  Reruns on Spike TV.  I had a rant about an issue related to Spike TV a couple of years ago.  In any event, yes, Friday nights I stay home and watch CSI reruns and last night I fell asleep right before the end of the ep which peeves me.  So I don't know if Marcia Cross or the secretary was the killer of the husband who was poisoned with dandruff shampoo.  It'll be on again eventually.  Gil Grissom has to be my favorite character on TV right now, and he's a great character  to boot.   Now, I might not be a PhD entomologist, but I do tend to spurt out classical and literary references in situations where deemed appropriate.  Probably one of those things that got my former coworkers detesting me so much and thinking I was a know-it-all.  *Shrug*  Oh well.  

I've noticed that since I am not working anymore, that I have much less to complain about and therefore much less that I can sit and extemporaneously write about.  Maybe its a sign that I need to actually sit and write things of substance rather than griping all of the time.  Because let's face it, I don't really have anything to gripe about anymore.  I don't have the crappy co-workers, my ulcer seems to be all healed, my stomach has not hurt in a few weeks, my IBS is working itself out (fiber is my new bestest friend in the whole wide world!), I don't have to wake up at the ass crack of dawn anymore to get my day started, I don't have to deal with 3 to 4 hours of rush-hour traffic every day, I don't have to spend almost $100 a week to fill my gas tank up, I don't have to deal with the stresses of legal deadlines, I am able to eat normal home-prepared meals at normal times, I get to see my little bundle of joy all day every day and get those huge baby hugs.....  so yeah.  Now's the time to exercise my brain and get some real cerebral aerobics done.

I have every intention of taking the GRE at some point to go to grad school and get a degree in something completely useless like Medieval History of Europe or the Middle East.  But DAMN if I am not horrified at the thought of having to take that test!  Its the math part that scares me.  I have not taken any sort of math class in almost 20 years!!  I can't believe I just said that either.  TWENTY YEARS!  The last math class I took was trig in my freshman year of college, 1987-88.  And I made a "D" in that class.  Math was just never my forte.  I hope its not my downfall when it comes to most post graduate endeavors.


Song Virus du Jour:   "Don't Crash" ~ Front 242


Useless Trivia du Jour:  OK, this was a bit surreal.  Yesterday I was out and about with the wee one and I had a CD of some old club favorites playing along. Well, I was listening to "No Devotion" by The Revolting Cocks, and the little guy was playing with a soft book of Sesame Street characters that makes sounds when you push buttons.  One of the sounds is a mooing cow.  All during the song, he kept pushing the "moo" button, almost to the beat.  And strangely enough, it worked with the song!  Weird.

2 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007