Thursday, Apr. 13, 2006 - 12:23 p.m.

Prepping for the (potential) Travel Nightmare

New Page 1

*CHING!*  I win the packing game!  I am all packed, except for my toiletries, re:  make-up, and I don't leave until Saturday.  Actually, I was all packed last night after a dog-free and kiddo-free day.  Many errands I ran.   Much money I spent.  Many superfluous (*DING!* extra points for big word usage)  items I did NOT pack!!  Why take shampoo, lotion, toothpaste and a month's worth of diapers when you can get it at your destination?  In fact, for someone going out of town for a month, I actually packed light.  I packed a few pairs of slacks, a skirt, a few tops and sweaters, a swimsuit, and jammies.  Well, undies too of course.  Travi has a week's worth of diapers, his clothes, a swimsuit, a couple of pairs of shoes and socks.  And Travis now has a new diaper bag:  A Darth Vader backpack.  Strong with the bad ass he is.  I have to take 5 months worth of deodorant and saline solution for the hubby because he cannot get the products that he uses over there (Almay hypoallergenic deodorant and Alcon all purpose lens solution).  If it were hubby doing the packing, it would be started the night before departure, around 10:00 p.m., and be an all night event.  I know.  I have witnessed it many a time, and I don't enjoy it.

Money has been deposited in the bank so that I can pay the bills online while gone.  The AC filters have been changed. The dog has been groomed and is at the vet right now having her annual and her teeth cleaned.  My mail has been put on hold with the post office.

I actually have one real grievance about being gone for a month, I am going to miss my weekly dose of "Lost"!  HOWEVER, just as a coincidence, I learned yesterday that starting this week, new episodes of "Lost" will be available the day after they air online!  All is not lost (pun intended).

Traveling with a toddler is an experience and a challenge.  We went to Jordan in November, first flying to Chicago, then hopped on a Royal Jordanian Airways flight direct to Amman.  That wasn't so terrible because it was overnight and he slept most of the way.  This time its Lufthansa to Frankfurt, some ungodly 11 or 12 hour layover, and then another flight to Amman that leaves after 8:00 pm and gets in at 2:30 a.m. Amman time.  This will be more challenging than the last trip for a few reasons.  He is older and does NOT like to sit still and WILL want to walk around.  Keeping him busy and occupied will be tougher than before.  Keeping him occupied during the layover will be a challenge.  My father in law is flying back with us though so we can hand the little guy off to each other.  We have a day room fortunately, so he is free to burn off that energy in the room instead of trying to wrangle him in the airport and keep him corralled. I have NO idea how he will handle the jet lag this time around.  Last time, he didn't really have any.  In all honesty, I am not looking forward to going over.  Its just going to be exhausting.


Song Virus du Jour:  The Home Depot commercial jingle.


Useless Trivia du Jour:  I've never been to Germany and honestly hope that during my 12 hour layover we can get out and look around a little bit.  Nina wants a souvenir.  I hope I find something she likes.

0 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007