Monday, Jul. 03, 2006 - 7:21 a.m.

Dear Luby's Cafeterias

New Page 1 Dear Luby's Cafeterias:

As someone who has eaten at Luby's her entire life, over the last two years or so, I have repeatedly been disappointed in the continuing decline in the quality and familiarity of my dining experiences at Luby's. I understand that companies change, and, were it for the better, it would be more welcome in my eyes. However, in my opinion, this does not seem to be the case.

I am unimpressed with the new �upscale� image that Luby�s is emulating. I don�t care that the food selections are displayed on white platters in the serving line, or that some Luby�s restaurants now have individual servers for the tables. What I care about, and have always cared about, is the quality and taste of the food, along with the price. The changes in many of the staple items on Luby�s menu have been the main impetus for my change of heart for Luby�s. Gone are the clover rolls that were once so delicious, I would always get two, and instead offered are over risen yeast rolls with not one iota of the goodness of their predecessors. Gone is the light and crisp fried okra that was coated in flour, and replaced by okra that is now coated in batter, and appears to me to be pre-frozen. Gone is the chicken fried steak that was once coated in cracker crumbs, and lightly fried, and one could see how large a portion of meat they were getting. Now the steak is coated in batter that hides the meat portion one is being served. For example, the last Luann platter I ordered had CFS, however, I had perhaps 6 bites of meat because the coat of batter was twice the size of the actual portion of meat. On my lat visit as well, the restaurant was out of jello for my son�s dinner. I was not happy about this.

I understand that that cost of running a business must increase over the years, but I can still remember when a Luann platter cost less than 5 dollars. Now it is close to $7.00, and the portions seem to be smaller.

I keep periodically returning to various Luby�s hoping that some changes back to the way things used to be will have occurred, and am disappointed each time. I understand though, that many of the implemented changes have helped Luby�s bottom line, as evidenced by quarterly returns. However, I have a difficult time seeing this as the lines at Luby�s just don�t seem to be as long as they used to be. I hope that Luby�s management takes to heart and into account the concerns of its patrons, especially those of us who grew up on Luby�s food. Thank you for your time and consideration.


Song Virus du Jour:  A little nite nite song from Travis' Baby Tad Leap Frog


Useless Trivia du Jour:  I'm really tired and I have no energy.  My back hurts too


Preggo Craving du Jour:  Not really hungry right now

0 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007