Monday, Jul. 17, 2006 - 7:22 a.m.

Am I Stretching Myself Too Thin Here?

New Page 1

I have kicked into project overload.  Here is what I have going on:

1.    UpStage Theatre:  Planning and producing the the UpStage Theatre May 2007 Fund Raiser Variety Show and Auction.  This entails recruiting talent who will be willing to donate their acts for the evening, with a few rehearsals thrown in as well; recruiting a celebrity guest host;  soliciting merchants, artisans and individuals for item to donate to a silent auction; recruiting volunteers to usher, work box office and concessions, and who can also do a celebrity impersonation or look alike; most likely directing said event; coordinating publicity including posters and flyers, newspaper ads, ticket sales, emails, web site prominence; making sure all who donate time and materials are appropriately acknowledged on the web site and in the program; and in the end, making sure it is an unqualified success and possibly continuing as an annual event, something that becomes known and that people will recognize and want to attend.  An event of epic proportions if you will.

2.    UpStage Theatre:  Scheduling and hosting the UpStage Theatre annual meeting in which we will publicly announce our new and upcoming 2006-2007 season, as well as formally announce our current "housing" situation. 

3.    TRF:  Most immediate is the new character and performer orientation this Saturday.  I will again be giving the character presentation.  I have to rewrite that since I lost my notes from last year.  I think I tried my darndest to take up almost the whole hour.  I don't need to do that that again, especially since I will be in velvet, and pregnant in the 90 degree heat.

4.    TRF:  Rewriting the script for the Pirate weekend.  Also been asked to rewrite blurbs for the program.

5.    TRF:  Uh, DUH!  Rehearsals start on August 5th.

6.    Brobdingnagian Bards House Concert:  I really want to host them in my home, and am looking at Labor Day weekend, however, it looks at though they will be at DragonCon that weekend.   I don't do sci-fi or gaming conventions so I really don't know what this one is about.  However, if they are there that weekend, they perhaps they can come in one Friday evening or Sunday evening in September.  No Saturdays though since we will all be at TRF rehearsals all the live long day.

7.    Purging My Home:  I have geared into nesting overdrive and am ridding my home of any and everything that does not have a place, is not used, has not been used, I don't want, need, is not baby/toddler proofable, is clutter, or just taking up space that is a precious commodity in this house.  I'm purging from top to bottom, cabinets, drawers, closets, under the beds, boxes, corners, etc.

8.    Cleaning Out the Garage:  Not so much cleaning OUT as it is more organizing.  There's crap in there to be sure, and will be part of the purging process, but most stuff in there is just thrown in there with no organization.  Therefore, shelves will be purchased, the contents of the garage will be emptied, sorted into keep, toss and sell piles, and then put back in with some semblance of logical storage and organization.  Hey!  We might actually be able to get to the box of tools without having to pussy foot over a bike and several other items that are topsy-turvy! 

9.    Cleaning Out the Study/Home Office:  There is so much CRAP in this room including dead monitors, old electronics, papers that need to be shredded, wires, cords, and just shit.  There is also coffee and soda spilled all over this carpet that needs to come up as well.  This room and the garage are going to be cleaned when Tarik is here for his 10 day visit home, because if it doesn't get done then, it may never happen.  Did I also mention that there are several dead monitors in the garage and attic as well?  *Rolls eyes*

10.    Creating Travis' New Bedroom:  Well, we have a room in the front of the house that was a guest room.  Nina and Liam were kind enough to take Tarik's old IKEA furniture off of our hands for his boys.  That just leaves the rest of the clutter in that room to schlep out of there.  That room will become Travis' new room once we get it put together, get his beds from Tarik's mom, and get it painted.  The closet has to be totally emptied as well.  There are a few things in there that I need to keep and have NO idea where I am going to put them.  Perhaps in my closet which is sufficiently huge.  This is also on the list of things to do when Tarik gets home.

11.    Cleaning Out MY Closet:  I purged a couple of years ago, but that was only my clothes.  I didn't touch Tarik's clothes as he was not here.  This time, we are getting rid of his stuff that is too small and is WAY out of date, and trust me, there is plenty.  Also, since I don't work anymore, and don't need suits, I can get rid of my "office clothes".  This I am happy about.  There are also other things in there like handbags, craft items, and other stuff that I don't need or really want, but was saving for some reason and needs to go.  Does anyone buy shoes at garage sales?

12.    Buy a Sleeper Sofa:  Since all three bedrooms in this house will in a very short while be turned into bedrooms for very little people, there will be no guest room available.  No bed in the nursery, and Travis will only have bunk beds.  So, we will need to go out and buy a new sleeper sofa to put in his room until the bunk beds can get here, and I send the sofa and chair in the living room off to be reupholstered by Randy's mom.  the impetus of this is that my parents are coming in while Tarik is here and will need a place to sleep.

13.    Shampooing the Carpets:  I don't' want to go into what is actually IN the carpets, but suffice it to say, that they are 5 years old and we have pets and a toddler.  Oh, and my husband can't seem to keep his coffee in his cup.

14.    Garage Sale:  All of this purging, and cleaning of the clutter will culminate in a garage sale of epic proportions over Labor Day Weekend.  I have not decided if I will do it Saturday or Sunday.  It could be Monday, but, I don't know yet.  And I am going to try to do this as simply as possible.  I am putting things in bins and boxes and labeling them 4 for a $1.00, or 5 for $1.00, that kind of thing, as much as possible, so I don't have to put tags on EVERYTHING.  That's not to say stuff won't be labeled, but, as little labeling as possible.  I may even take bids on some stuff depending on what it is.

15.    Being Pregnant and Giving Birth

I think that pretty much sums up what I have going on in my very immediate future.  I think I need to get the dog groomed sometime in there as well.


Song Virus du Jour:  "I Can't Smile Without You" ~ Barry Manilow.


Useless Trivia du Jour:  An event unprecedented in TRF History will occur this year.  For THE first time, Jen Ellis will NOT be attending New Character Orientation.  Yes folks, that is correct.  She is repeating characters, two years in a row.


Preggo Craving du Jour:  Hmmmm, I haven't decided yet.

 

0 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007