Sunday, Aug. 13, 2006 - 9:21 a.m.

Great Rehearsal Yesterday!

New Page 1

I am totally pooped and tired today, but in a good way.  Rehearsal yesterday went GREAT!!!   I hope any of you in performance company who are reading this agree and that you had a good time.  It was really hot yesterday and I had the kid with me because my in-laws are out of town, but we got so much work done.  Almost all of the groups are staged for Act I, and next week we move on to Act II.  This is going alot smoother than I imagined,  and I don't think that saying that will jinx it either.  The returning cast are picking it right back up, and the new cast members are catching on wonderfully.  I hope that Sherry, Ben, Melissa and Kim are having an easier time of it this year as well and that its more in fun than excruciatingly ass kicking work.  One of the good things about this has been that even though we ARE doing the same show, we have been able to make changes and bring in new material.  What the Scots have put together is just, well, its WRONG!  WRONG I tell you!  And I'm flattered that Jeff made no changes to my script for Pirate weekend, save for the tweaking of a word here or there for delivery's sake.  I caught a glimpse of Robin Hood's bit yesterday with Dave picking up Sherry and hoisting her over his head, and that ALWAYS cracked me up last year.  Good to see it again.

Cathleen was kind enough to watch Travis for me in the morning while we were doing scenario staging.  But he had to come with me to Character and Improv Class and Acting and Scripting class, and he sat and watched character intros.  He laughed out loud at several of them.  That's a good sign for those performers.  It means that they were wacky, entertaining, made big choices, choices big enough to entertain a toddler.....  And in the afternoon during scenario staging, Dan and Linda Stewart were kind enough to take him for a couple of hours.  Bless them for their kindness.  Its great to have a family like we do out there.  Even though we may be the single most dysfunctional family in the world, we still look out for one another and come together in a pinch.

Not going to dance call today because, well, I'm not dancing this year, I would have the kiddo again out in the heat and he just doesn't need to be there, and there's not really anything I can be doing out there.  So we are home today.  I don't know if I will go next weekend either as that afternoon is the UpStage Annual meeting here at my house at 4:00 pm.  Shoot, I forgot to put a note in Jeff's box about that.  I'll email him today.


Song Virus du Jour:  and we all knew this was bound to happen---  "Oh Gracious Queen"


Useless Trivia du Jour:  I'm worried about Tarik's assistant in Amman.  His name is Mohammed, and he is about to lose his job when the office finally does shut down.  This job with KBR was a once in a lifetime opportunity for him, and Tarik is worried he won't be able to find work for a long time.  Under Jordanian labor and employment law, if and when KBR does lay him off, they will have to pay him a six month severance.  WOW!  And he is very competent in his work.  He had asked Tarik about the possibility of immigrating to the US for work, but unless KBR can place him here, the chances of his being able to that are pretty slim.  Unfortunately for him, Mohammed is Palestinian.


Preggo Craving du Jour:  Hmmmm, so much food out there, but I am thinking its fried shrimp yet AGAIN, or a bacon cheeseburger from Wendy's.

0 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007