Monday, Aug. 14, 2006 - 9:01 a.m.

Loneliness is Too Prevalent

New Page 1

Reading friends' journals and just speaking with them has lead me to postulate that there is an overabundance of loneliness out there, whether it be for those in relationships or not.  I know I have been lonely the last couple of years with my husband gone overseas.  I think the single loneliest night of my entire life was the day that Tarik had to go back to Jordan after Travis was born.  I dropped him off at the airport, then came home that evening to an empty house, just me and a three week old baby, and not really knowing what I was doing, as I was a first time mom.  I sat there and cried at the prospect for a while, then stopped as soon as the baby started crying.  I got over that, but have had SEVERAL bouts of loneliness since then.  I don't socialize much since arranging for a sitter for Travis is sometimes more trouble than its worth, if I don't want to take him with me somewhere.  Then in the evenings I am by myself of course, and go to bed by myself.  I love staying home with him, but there ARE those times when an adult needs interaction with other adults.

I look at my other friends and their loneliness.  Many are in relationships or married but feel that their partners are detached from them emotionally, they don't receive the interaction with them that is warranted in their relationships with their partners, or their partners simply don't care about them or their relationships.  Occurrences happen on a daily basis to make one partner feel unloved, unappreciated, slighted, and rejected.  Then others are going through major life changes that are most likely the impetus for their feelings of loneliness and will recover as the newness of their situations eases off.  Still others are in no romantic relationship at all, and although have many friends, don't have the opportunity to spend time with those friends as much as needed or wanted.  

We as a society are losing our time to be social and to interact with others.  We work, and we work and we work, and we put in long hours at work, and we commute our free time away.  I've heard that the average commute is 24 minutes a day.  HA!  I WISHED I had been one of those people who had such an easy commute.  Before I left my job to stay home with my kid, I spent anywhere from 15 to 20 hours A WEEK commuting, not getting home until after 7 each night.  Who has time to spend with friends and socialize and build relationships with that kind of schedule?  And I have not been alone in this deprivation of quality time either.  I honestly cannot name one person who is home before 6:00 pm from their job.  Well, I can, but he is single and can afford to move to apartments that are more or less across the street from where he is employed.  But the majority of us must wait for the weekends to meet up, and even then, its difficult.  I have friends I grew up with who live in Houston, and only 15 miles away for that matter, but have not seen in years because of schedules, family, work, and life.  Its just the way it is.  I truly wish we had more time to be with our friends and to socialize.  Its important to us as the social animals that we are to have stimulation, and conversation and relationships of all kinds.


Song Virus du Jour:  Elmo's World Theme Song


Useless Trivia du Jour:  LOL, I told Tarik that Travis learned how to say "Oh My!" today, but he thinks its too girly.  Thank GOD he's coming home so he can instill some testosterone influence in this kid.


Preggo Craving du Jour:  Philly Cheese steak with Mustard Sauce from Texadelphia.

0 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007