Tuesday, Aug. 15, 2006 - 8:07 a.m.

Yea Verily! And There Was Much Rejoicing!

New Page 1

Wow, weird.  For the past, almost three years, I have gotten up every morning and chatted with my husband online.  Now granted, there have been some days that this hasn't happened for various reasons, or I wouldn't have time to chat till I got to work.  But suffice it to say, it has been how we have kept in touched and maintained some sort of normalcy in our relationship with him being 7,000 miles away.  Kind of makes you wonder how those before us did it with no internet, email, or cell phones.  Well, I got up this morning, shot him an email, to see if he was still at the office, and.....nothing.  No reply.  That's it.  He is done.  His tenure with KBR in Amman, Jordan is over.  As of right now, he is most likely at his apartment, packing and getting ready to come home tomorrow.  His flight will leave Amman around 3 this morning, Amman time, which is 7:00 pm Houston time.  He will get into Amsterdam, then be on his way back to Houston.  His flight into Houston gets in around 1:30 pm tomorrow.

The reality of this is just now beginning to register with me.  My husband will be home, for good, with me and the kid, the fur babies, and the bun in the oven.  And as much as I am overjoyed at the prospect of his being home, there is still some anxiety to go along with it.  I have lived by myself, and then with the kid, for almost three years now.  I have become very set in some ways, and for the most part out of necessity.  With a baby/toddler, schedules and continuity are extremely important.  But I have also become accustomed to my own ways of doing things, used to a certain amount of mess around here, dirty dishes, dirty clothes, lights off at a certain time, going to bed at a certain time....  Its just been MY way around here.  Now we are forced to reintegrate ourselves into each others' lives and it will no doubt be a tad rocky in the beginning.  Hey, just because he is my husband and I love him to death doesn't mean that this is supposed to be easy.  And I know its not easy for him either.  He is leaving a job that he really likes (for the most part), people he really likes (for the most part), and moving.  And just because he is moving from someplace that isn't his HOME, he HAS lived there for quite some time.  Change, for whatever reason, is never easy.  Luckily, one thing that seems to come easy for him is being a father.  The time that we have been able to spend together as a family has proven that to be true.  He and Travis get along great and Travis seems to adore him.  He KNOWS Tarik is his dad.  And I know Tarik loves him with all his being.  

 

I guess with all of this, our unconventional first couple of years as parents, the trips we have been able to make, things that have happened on those trips, things that have happened in places after we have taken trips there, just goes to show that my life is far from ordinary.


Song Virus du Jour:  "Heroes" ~ David Bowie


Useless Trivia du Jour:  I don't opine on politics much in this blog.  I save that for my forums and whatnot.  But I wanted to share this blog with everyone.  Its called BloggingBeirut.com and its kept by a young computer engineer in Beirut who drives around the city each day taking photos of damage sustained in the recent conflict between Hizbollah and Israel, as well as photos of people just living their lives in various parts of Lebanon. 


Preggo Craving du Jour:  I think I need a taco.   Man, I have really been jonesing for Mexican food this time around.

0 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007