Wednesday, Oct. 18, 2006 - 2:02 p.m.

The Texas Survey!

New Page 1

The Texas Survey!

1. First of all, where in Texas do (did) you live?
Missouri City, which is a suburb of Houston, and adjacent to Sugar Land.

2. What's your favorite place to chill in Texas?
Austin/San Marcos.

3. Have you ever been on a boat in Lake Travis?
I think so.  Though I honestly can't remember.  It would have been in college, and I've slept since then.

4. Do you go camping?
I do not, although I've got a tent, air mattress, sleeping bags, Coleman stove, and I am married to an Eagle Scout.

5. Do you ever use the word "yall"?
I think that it is require.  Although I do say "you guys" quite often.

6. Have you ever owned a truck?
I have an SUV, but never owned a truck and don't plan to!

7. Have you ever had heat exhaustion?
Marginally, at TRF.

8. How many Texas snows have you witnessed?
About three or four.

9. Have you ever ice skated indoors?
At the Galleria, baby!

10. Have you ever squirted one of your parents with a water gun?
Oh dear God NO!  Margaret would NOT be amused.

11.. Do you prefer the Spurs or the Mavs?
Don't care.

12. Do you like the city or the country?
I like the city in general, but, to get out of the city every once in a while is nice.

13. Have you ever been sprayed by a skunk?
Thank God no.  But I think they are SOOOOO cute.

14. Have you ever run over an armadillo?
I don't think so.

15. Have you ever been to a Cowboys game?
HELL NO.

16. Have you ever been to a Stars or an Icebats game?
No.

17. Have you ever attended the State Fair of Texas?
Yes I have!  Had a great time, and then went to the Texas/OU football game.

18. What's your favorite Mexican food restaurant?
It all depends on the item I want.  If I want stuffed fried avocados, then its Las Gallitos.  I honest to goodness LOVE Rancho Grande's salsa and swear I am going to buy a pint to take home with me.  For cheese enchiladas, Ninfa's or Fajita Flats because they both use REAL cheddar cheese and not this processed fake cheese crap.

19. Have you ever drank Shiner beer?
Sipped.  I don't like beer.  I wish I did though.

20. Have you ever been on a hayride?
A few times.

21. Have you ever ridden a horse?
Yes, but not in YEARS!

22. Were you in 4-H or FFA?
AHHHHHH, NO NO NO NO NO!

23. Which place in Texas has the best scenery/view?
Austin/San Marcos.

24. Which grocery store do you shop at?
Kroger

25. Have you ever partied in a barn?
Actually yes, but it was a former horse barn converted into a gorgeous rental hall in Tennessee, where my aunt and uncle had their 50th wedding anniversary party.

26. Have you ever partied in a pasture?
Not that I can recall.

27. Do you like keg beer?
No.

28. Are you Baptist?
Methodist.  We're just Baptists who can read.

29. Have you ever been swimming in a river or creek?
Yes I have, but not in a loooooooong time.

30. How many presidents do you know lived in Texas?
I haven't known any presidents.   That is to say, I know the presidents, but not like Marilyn Monroe KNEW the president.  But I can think of at least three right off of the top of my head.

31. Have you ever been on the Comal River?
The what???

32. Is your school big?
University of Texas @ Austin.  What do you think?

33.How many times have you been to H-town?
I am a native Houstonian and I still live here.

34. Who is your favorite Texas country artist?
I don't do country art.  But, in college I used to buy water colors from a man on the Drag named Walter Falk.

35. Have you ever ridden a mechanical bull?
I guess by osmosis since I have seen Urban Cowboy about a million times.

36. Have you ever been to the rodeo?
Yes.  I've seen Barbara Mandrell, the Gatlin Bros., George Strait, and I think Vince Gill.

37. Do you own a cowboy hat?
Used to.  Not any more.  I donated that to the theater..

38. Finally, what's your favorite thing about Texas?
Texas has its own mythos and mystique.  Its kinda kewl that way.


Song Virus du Jour:  "You Can Go Your Own Way" ~ Fleetwood Mac


Useless Trivia du Jour:  I am a big fan of Renaissance art, and think Hans Holbein was none other than brilliant.  "Holbein" means "hollow bone."


Preggo Craving du Jour:  There is getting to be less and less room in here and cravings are kinda going by the wayside now.

0 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007