Monday, Oct. 23, 2006 - 2:22 p.m.

Fecundity is Beautiful

OK, OK, OK!!  Damn Roxy, keep yer shorts on!!!

OK, what is going on here that is worthy of posting?  Um, well, last night and this morning I felt as if both of my legs were going to pop out of my hips.  This is not because of the walking around I did yesterday, chasing after the Travinator, or running to see his grandmother put him on a pony for a ride only to get there AFTER he had finished, or running along the track behind the list to get to the dais for the post fireworks farewell song because the fireworks were 15 minutes earlier last night and no one told us.  No, it is one of the MANY miracles of pregnancy and childbirth, in that your hips start to spread at a certain point during gestation in order to make room for the baby noggin and body to make way out the Southerly route during delivery.  To that end, my hips loosened up sometime during my first trimester, and it was literally an overnight thing.  This is there the sleeping with a pillow between your legs becomes important because it keeps your top let propped up so as to not irritate the hip joint.  Also, each faire day, I drive up in the morning and home in the evening, and the hour I spend in the car makes for uncomfy and sore hips in the interim.

This morning I had to go for my one hour glucose tolerance/gestational diabetes test.  So I sat in the lab's waiting room, feeling like I had sciatica, except on the side and upper part of my left leg, having just drank a bottle of orange flavored carbonated sugar on an empty stomach as this test requires fasting.  I swear to God I shall be MOST put out if the results come back saying I have "failed" this test and I have to go back and do the three hour test, only for it to tell me that I indeed do NOT have gestational diabetes.

I got a heat/sweat rash underneath my left boob on Saturday from sweat and my bra's under wire that rubbed me the wrong way.  It was muy itchy and red yesterday morning, but I slathered it with Benedryl cream and it cleared up.

Grilled cheese sammiches are da bomb when they are prepared correctly.

I need to go to the grocery for a few items, and as I am very tired because I cannot get a decent night's sleep anymore, I have no energy to do so, but KNOW I need to do it today, because I won't have a chance to go until Friday because of School Days.  I get to teach some dances to the kids!  I am REALLY looking forward to that.  I know one of my girlfriends who teaches "Special Needs" students will be there tomorrow.  I don't know exactly when or where I will be doing this, but I DO know I will be teaching Highland Welcome.

And yes, in case you have heard the rumor, I will be playing Katherine of Aragon come Highland Fling weekend as Rosella has to go to Australia on a business trip that weekend.  I am really REALLY looking forward to it and Greg is already scheming as to how we can work in having a pregnant queen.  It looks as though her dress should fit me, albeit a tad awkwardly.  And I am just hoping that the weather holds out and its not too warm that weekend.  I will be uncomfy enough in my advanced state of fecundity (*DING* Bonus points for use of big word - Thank you Jen Ellis for enriching my vocabulary each and every day) and will appreciate the gods working with me to maintain some semblance of comfort.

'Tis all for now.  I hope that I have provided non-boring nuggets of reading for your amusement.


Song Virus du Jour: "Elmo's World" theme song


Useless Trivia du Jour: FE-cund;   FE-tus....  see the root there?


Preggo Craving du Jour:  I am thinking some nice juicy grilled skirt steak.  It has to be marinated the right way though.

 

0 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007