Tuesday, Nov. 28, 2006 - 9:12 a.m.

Rush Doth Rock Mightily!

New Page 1

So I was perusing Mark Carboni's photos of TRF 2006 this morning, and again, as I always do, lamented on the fish eye lens he uses when he photographs everyone, producing a weird distortion of our features.� And I started chatting with Miss Sherry as well and commenting on the photos taken through her "Consuelo Halo."� I remarked to her about the "fish eye lens," and as what often happens when I get on a topic, I have a song association with something in the conversation.� The phrase "Fish Eye Lens" has but ONE association for me, that being the song "Limelight" by Rush, who doth rock most mightily.� I would even venture to say they are one of the most underrated and underappreciated and best rock bands of all time.� I just love them, especially their older stuff a' la Moving Pictures and Permanent Waves.� Tarik goes even farther back with 2112, A Farewell to Kings,� and the like.� Well, there of course has to be some instant song virus gratification here and immediately I whipped out "Limelight" played at an unnatural volume, then progressed onto "The Spirit of Radio," which by my standards, IS the song to get my day going.� Ahhh, the dulcet tones of Geddy Lee's vocals, Alex Leifson's guitar, and Neil Peart's drums.� Makes my heart sing.


Song Virus du Jour:� "Limelight" ~ Rush


Useless Trivia du Jour:� More Christmas Trivia!

Yule was the winter solstice celebration of the Germanic pagans. In Germanic Neopaganism, this celebration is largely reconstructed to various extents by various groups. In Wicca, a form of the holiday is observed as one of the eight solar holidays, or sabbats, where Yule is celebrated on the winter solstice: in the northern hemisphere, circa December 21, and in the southern hemisphere, circa June 21.

"Yule" and "Yuletide" are also archaic terms for Christmas, sometimes invoked in songs to provide atmosphere. Indeed, this is the only meaning of "Yule" accepted by either the full Oxford English Dictionary or the Concise Oxford Dictionary, and people unfamiliar with ancient pagan traditions will not distinguish between Yule and Christmas. This usage survives in the term "Yule log"; it may also persist in some Scottish dialects.


Preggo Craving du Jour:� Still not really wanting anything.

0 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007