Monday, Dec. 11, 2006 - 3:54 a.m.

YEA!!! I Can't Sleep!

New Page 1

I'm up.   Been up since almost 2:00 and its now 3:00.  I've just settled into "that" mode.  My actual hours of sleep quota per night is now about 5 or 6 hours.  And it leaves me very tired and extremely short tempered during the day.  I don't have the energy to chase Travis around, nor do I really have the physical capability seeing as I pretty much walk with a waddling limp now.  Both of my hips feel like they are almost out of joint, and I am way too front heavy.  And during the day my abdomen becomes increasingly uncomfortable, strained, heavy, distended, sore, burdensome and painful.  I can't really breathe well either, but that is just because walking across the room is almost like running a marathon and it leaves me winded. 

So, I am up because I had to pee, and I just couldn't get back to sleep.  No real reason.  Well, OK, maybe the snoring hubby, and the UMPTEEN MILLION thoughts running through my brain at this time could have something to do with it.  I am peeved at my mother in law.  My parents were here this weekend, and I had my annual estrogen fest, aka: my graham cracker (gingerbread) house building party on Saturday.  Well around 5:00 pm, my mother in law decided that Tarik had to go to her house to look at a picture of a sofa she was considering buying.  Well, by 5:00 most people had cleared out, we were cleaning up (thank you a million Miss Kathy, Miss Tiffany and Rona and whomever else was here!) and my folks had said that they wanted to take us out to get a Christmas tree and to go and eat.  The mere fact that my MIL would practically demand that my husband leave go to her house while we had guests for something that she could have asked him to do the day before, or the next day, really pissed me off.  And its not like its a quick trip either.  Its at least an hour to go over there and to come back,  plus the time spent there trying to make up her mind for her.  And no matter what she is advised, no matter what piece of furniture she gets, she IS going to find something wrong with it and send it back.  Trust me on this.  So this did not make me happy and frankly, I thought it extremely rude that she demand he come over at dinner time, when my parents were here visiting from out of town, just to look at something for a minute when she could have asked him to do it at any other time. He ended up going, and we ended up not getting a tree on Saturday evening.   Then earlier today, when we were out with my parents, she called again and needed us both to come over and make up her mind for her for the same couch issue.  I said absolutely not because we were a) out with my parents, and b) I had four or five loads of laundry to do, a very sticky floor to mop, an assload of dishes sitting in the kitchen from the day before to clean, c) a dishwasher to empty and reload, d) a dining room table to clear off and clean, e) a Christmas tree now sitting in the living room needing decorating, and a myriad of other chores to get done.  Now, I may be just a little sensitive right now, but I don't like it when people demand my time like this.  And she got miffed of course that we could not and would not drop everything that we were doing to rush over to her house to make up her mind for her about a sofa, when Tarik had been over there the night before at her behest to give her his opinion.  So what was the point to begin with?  Anyway, I'll leave this topic be before a vein pops.

Another pending cerebral drama keeping me up at night is the bedroom that Travis will apparently never have.  I am doing, or planning on doing Travis up his own room so the baby nursery can just stay the same.  We've already gotten rid of the furniture that was in there and gotten rid of a bunch of other stuff we didn't need in our garage sale earlier this year.   However, instead of this room decreasing in its "junk" or "we have no other place to put it" content, its GROWING by leaps and bounds.  The entire room is now almost completely full of stuff that has no other place to go, as opposed to it being completely emptied out to make room for us to paint, and move in the bunk beds that were Tarik's and are now to be Travis'.  We bought a bookshelf earlier in the week that is to go in the den and is for our "nice" books, then the shelf in that room is to go in our bedroom and the shelf in our bedroom is to go in this room for Travis.  Well, all books are now stacked on the floor in our bedroom and on the floor in the Travis bedroom to be.  I am not lying when I say just about every inch of floor space is covered in there.  And Tarik really doesn't have time in the evening to put a bookshelf together.  And forget asking my sister in law to come over and help me do it.  She's too busy sleeping til 10 or 11 o'clock every day, not working, then going to the gym at 5:00.  And of course there are always SOME kind of strings attached when it comes to asking for help or favors from them.  So I am just not going to bother.  This child is due January 18th.  That is one month from now.  And I can tell you now, he will be early.  So I am freaking out a little bit and a bit overwhelmed about getting this particular chore done and out of the way.

We also need to buy a car.  The Acura is out of commission, and we just need a reliable, family vehicle.  But, we just don't have the money to get a new car right now, nor do we have the time to go and look.  After this kid gets here, I cannot drive Tarik to work or to the bus each and every morning and then go pick him up each and every evening.  Heck, I am not going to be allowed to drive PERIOD for at least two weeks after the kid is born.  And beginning December 22, Tarik has to be at work at 7:00 because he will be the lone and dedicated IT support guru for the KBR executives, i.e. the CEO and VP's and such.

And of course Christmas is upon us, and I need to get the rest of my shopping done, but no idea when that is going to happen.  And for Christmas day, I need to make a dish that will feed 25 people.  I think though that my baked potato casserole should do the trick.  But the thought of doing anything with any kind of exertion makes me tired. 

Alright, I think I've eaten up enough time tonight.  I want to try to go back to sleep.  Try being the operative word there. 

Good luck to my fellow insomniac this evening, bohemianlily, who is getting in some last minute Western Civ final studying.  Good luck on that final!!!  kick some ASS!


Song Virus du Jour:  Believe it or not, I actually DO have a song virus at this time of day, night, whatever, and I've had it for a few days now.  "The Trial" and also "Waiting for the Worms" by Pink Floyd, from "The Wall."


Useless Trivia du Jour:  The tradition of hanging up a Christmas stocking, of course, began in Germany.


Preggo Craving du Jour:  I thought I already covered this topic and that I don't ever want to eat, AGAIN!

1 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007