Thursday, Dec. 14, 2006 - 7:55 a.m.

Getting Ancy

New Page 1

Learning yesterday that I am already a cm and a half dilated, when my due date is not until January 18th,  has put me into a funk.  Really, its more of a state of anxiety and anticipation because there is so much to do around here, but not enough time to do it.  We can't even seem to get our Christmas tree decorated let alone Travis' new bedroom put together (all non-Travis contents removed, room painted, book shelves set up, furniture brought in).  There is also the remaining Christmas shopping to do, taking Travis to see Santa for his photo with the Jolly Old Elf, and the professional portrait of him I wanted to get done to give out as Christmas presents.  This last item looks to be pushed further on the back burner because last night, Travis made his first attempt at expressing his desire to one day portray Alex de Large, from "A Clockwork Orange", by getting into my makeup drawer, extracting my mascara, and proceeding to actually apply it liberally to the lashes on his right eye, with some smudges around his eye of course.  But the fact that he was coordinated enough to actually apply it to his lashes kinda weirds me out.  Anyway, I had to clean it off and I rubbed a little too hard, so the skin under his right eye is rubbed a little raw, and it makes him look like he has a bit of a black eye.  And of course, stoopid me didn't get the camera and take a picture of his new look.  Still, he really WAS able to actually put the mascara on his lashes without poking his eye out.....  But taking him in for a professional portrait with a "black eye" ain't gonna happen.  All of these issues pressing on my mind led me to sleep poorly last night and even to a mini anxiety attack in the middle of my "slumber."

When I mentioned to my doc yesterday that some thought this baby was going to be here by Christmas, she didn't deny that.  So, knowing that there COULD be a new baby in this house in less than two weeks has me a bit on edge.  I wish, I really, really wish, right now that I had some help around here during the day so I could get started on some of these projects that need to get done.  Tarik says I am just putting undue pressure on myself by setting artificial deadlines, and if Travis' room isn't done before the baby gets here, its not the end of the world.  Well, I am really glad he is so flippant about it.  No really.   I wouldn't want him to come home from work and actually DO something around here other than go straight to his computer and start playing games.  Maybe, just MAYBE the two to three hours a night he spends doing that could actually be spent doing something productive like, putting together the new bookshelf we bought to get a ton of books out of Travis' new bedroom.  Or, decorating the Christmas tree!  Or, I dunno, any one of the myriad of projects we have around here!  He won't deny this either, but my husband put the PRO in procrastination and its showing now ever so expertly.  Alright, maybe I had just better quit here before I get myself worked up into a state of really pissed-off-dom from which I will need to punch something to recover.  I don't have any useless trivia, or song virus or preggo cravings today.  All of you can provide those tidbits to my post.

0 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007