Friday, Feb. 09, 2007 - 8:53 a.m.

The Ulcer Returns

New Page 1

Yesterday the Easter Bunny brought back my ulcer for my birthday!  YEA!!  I'm so excited to have to go back on antibiotics for two weeks.  I did this last year when it was determined that yes, I indeed did have an ulcer.  I got to take a trip to the barium buffet and suck down a luscious, scrumptious cup full of that liquid chalk then have my guts bombarded with innocuous radiation.  Truth be told, watching my stomach on the x-ray while the barium moved into it and spread around was actually cool and didn't gross me out in the least.  Fortunately for me yesterday, I didn't have to do the upper GI test.  I just told him that it felt like the ulcer was back, and he wrote me up a prescription for the antibiotics and Prevacid, which, next to Maloxx, is the greatest drug in the whole wide world.  I take the antibiotic with Prevacid for two weeks, then Prevacid only for a month, then go one month taking nothing and after that month, go in to take a breath test to determine if any Helicobacter pylori is present.  Its the bacteria that causes most stomach ulcers.  After my treatment last year, I never went back in for my follow up because I was in Jordan at the time that was supposed to happen.  Heh, I just went back to read the entry I made last year about being diagnosed with an ulcer.  That one is dated February 16th, almost to the day that this entry is being penned.  And I had more to add to this entry today but toddler and newborn distractions have eliminated those thoughts from my brain.


Song Virus du Jour:  "The Dominatrix Sleeps Tonight" ~ Dominatrix


Useless Trivia du Jour:  This is my own personal wish list for UpStage's 2007-2008 season.  Obviously not all of these can go in the season, I would just like to direct one, and preferably the first on the list:

�The Lion in Winter� � James Goldman

�A Man for All Seasons� � Robert Bolt

�Becket� - Jean Anouilh

�Rope� � Patrick Hamilton

�Nuts� � Tom Topor

�One Flew Over the Cuckoo�s Nest� � Dale Wasserman (Adaptation)

�Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead� � Tom Stoppard

�Anne of the Thousand Days� � Maxwell Anderson

 

0 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007