Thursday, Feb. 15, 2007 - 3:22 p.m.

The Requisite V Day Entry

New Page 1

I suppose it IS required somewhere in the law of blog that one must muse about one's St. Valentine's Day and whether said holiday was a personal success.  So, here is my requisite entry.  I spent my St. Valentine's Day thusly:  The previous evening while hubby was out getting us some dinner, I put his gift on the seat of his car.  Said gift consisted of a sappy but cute card.  This is in and of itself unusual as I am not one to doll out the sap, rather preferring to exchange cards of a humorous nature.  Included with the sweet but sappy card was a box of candy called Longhorns, which were basically just turtles, and a bag of Sour Patch Kids, or as hubby prefers to refer to them, "The Kids."  He was very pleased with his loot and called me when he got to work to thank me.  I then schlepped The Destructor (our new name for Travis), and his sweet but sensitive newborn brother to a kiddo Valentine's day party hosted by one of the moms on the neighborhood online moms' forum I am on.  Yes, I am not proud to admit it that I have now gone totally domestic.  Oh well!  It got me out of the house which I soooooooo needed as this El Nino shit has GOT to go.  Are we living in Seattle?  I think not people!  The dreary weather has thrown me into all kinds of funkitude and its not pretty, especially to the hubby who must incur my wrath when it flares up.  Seasonal Affective Disorder?  Perhaps.  Probably.  Most Likely.  Whatever it is, it sucks.  I made it home and The Destructor crashed out with a bag of Tostitos by his side and one in his hand.  This itself is weird since he ingested no less than a pound of sugar at the Valentine's Day party just a couple of hours earlier.  But then couple that with several other wired toddlers and running amuck and I think it makes for a good way to burn off that fuel.  Hubby got home and asked if I had received anything to which I replied no.  He ordered me some flowers from FTD and they never got here.  Now its almost 3:00 p.m. on the 15th, and they STILL aren't here.  He apologized last night for the flowers not getting here, and I told him it was alright, that all I wanted for Valentine's Day was to get some sleep.

We decided to order some dinner from a place literally around the corner, MAYBE a mile away.  Just cheese steaks and fries and iced tea.  It got here an hour and 45 minutes later.  Nice.  The Destructor had potato skins and loved them.  The baby cried alot.  In fact, he is now starting to go on a continuous crying bout right around 10:00 p.m.  I have moved my sleeping spot to the sofa bed out in the den as I can no longer endure the snoring to wake the dead and decomposed coming from my husband and all attempts to get him to readjust during the night are fruitless.  This way too, I can put the baby in the bed beside me and then just pick him up when he wakes up.  However, not while he is screeching.  At midnight, after he had already been fed leisurely for almost 2 hours, he was wailing away, so I put him in his room and shut the door and turned on the tv to drown out both his crying and the hubby's snoring.  I fell asleep.  For. Four. Solid. Hours.  It was wonderful.  Four hours of sleep.  Say that with me.....  FOUR HOURS OF SLEEP!  He of course awoke and needed to be fed, and then fell BACK asleep, as did I, but not into the fully satisfying sleep of earlier.  No matter.  I still got 4 hours of uninterrupted sleep.  I'm not so icky today.  Oh yeah, The Destructor is at his grandmother's today so if I want to take a nap, I can!


Song Virus du Jour:  "Under Pressure" ~ Queen with David Bowie


Useless Trivia du Jour:
Cause love's such an old fashioned word
And love dares you to care
For the people on the edge of the night
And love dares you to change our way
Of caring about ourselves
This is our last dance

This is ourselves
Under Pressure
Under Pressure
Pressure

 

0 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007