Friday, May. 04, 2007 - 7:48 a.m.

Smacking Good Time!

New Page 1

Again, too busy to really do much of anything outside of the house.� But finally, starting tomorrow, that will change, and will change in full force.� TRF auditions are tomorrow, at least round one of such, at which I will be in attendance all day.� I like participating in auditions as I get that first taste of performance and it allows me get some of that needed performance energy out.� And this year I especially need this as I have been a little cooped up in the house since December nesting and caring for the new wee one.� Its time to get back out there and live my life, to get moving around, to get some exercise and to get my poor joints limbered up.� Baby will be coming with me of course because I have not taken the time to acclimate him to a bottle yet.� I had taken Travis to auditions in 2005 and it was not that much of a disaster.� He did cry profusely when a couple of the potentials screamed in their renprov exercise and it scared him.� I was able to calm him down though.� Brady is several weeks younger than Travis was at this same time, so we'll see how he handles it.

What has kept me busy, in addition to mommying my toddler and newborn, is the production of the UpStage Theatre Fundraiser - "Houston Talent Showcase:� An Evening with the Stars."� I LOVE organizing and planning events, and even got paid in the corporate world to do so at one point.� But this is something different.� This is for the theater, and its volunteer, and there isn't the grind of it being for my employer so I feel a bit more joy in doing this.� That is not to say its not hard work;� AU CONTRAIRE!!� I have probably worked harder on this event than any other tradeshow, sales conference for 500 people, or corporate function that I have organized.� And thank goodness I started early, as in August of last year, or I might be up the proverbial creek.� Recruiting all of the talent, begging for donations for the silent auction and raffles, doing all of the bid sheets for such, writing the script for the show, slotting everyone and figuring out the tech needs, recruiting volunteers to help with all aspects of the evening, getting donations of wine and champagne for a pre-show reception, keeping all involved in the loop with regular communications, getting bios and headshots of over 30 together for the program and writing the program, publicity for the show (what do you think I'm doing here!), and doing the website for the theater and this event.� Just a little bit of work to keep me busy.� And I know that NONE of you want to see my extensive efforts go to waste so you will ALL buy tickets, yes?� Please!� Your support would be the world to us.� So all of this effort culminates on May 19th.� In all honesty, its going to be a FUN night.� A REALLY fun night, and I am really looking forward to it and I hope that my hard work translates into a good time for everyone involved.� I am also terrified and anxious to get it over and done with.� This is the first time we have done this, and we are just anxious to see how it turns out.� I have learned much from this and am already keeping notes for things to do, or not to do, next year.� And it is our intention to make this an annual event just like many other arts events around town.

In the next few days I will start rehearsal for "The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde" which will take me out of the house at least three nights a week.� But that's OK.� I need to get away.� I know I am repeating myself here with information already relayed, but I suppose I am just writing it down again as a way to keep my brain somewhat organized.

So there it is.� Lots to keep me occupied.� OH yes!� Today is the annual Smack Off on the Jim Rome Show.�� I know, sports radio you ask?� Well, the hubby got me into it several years back, but its not just sports radio.� He is a funny man, and makes very sarcastic social commentary.� I don't always agree with what he says, and he has sometimes been a little hypocritical on some issues, but I love his show nonetheless, and the Smack Off is an event not to be missed.� If you don't listen to the show on a regular basis and tuned in just to hear the Smack Off, well, you won't get it.� There IS a culture that exists around the show, and its just one of those things you have to absorb.� Rome DOES say you need to give the show at least two weeks when you first start listening to get the gist and get where he is coming from.� And one female caller once deemed him "a nice piece of man candy."� Oh, I agree.


Song Virus du Jour:� "Lust for Life" ~ Iggy Pop


Useless Trivia du Jour:� The Smack Off even has its own Wikipedia page.

0 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007