Friday, Jun. 01, 2007 - 4:48 p.m.

This May Sound Pretentious, But.....

I love visual and performing arts and I am constantly amazed at the limitless creativity of individuals

I love visual and performing arts and I am constantly amazed at the limitless creativity of individuals.� I also wholeheartedly admit to the rearing of the ugly head of the green monster when I find an artist whose work I admire, find aesthetically pleasing, infinitely creative, unique, and not to mention marketable. Hey!� Just because you're an artist doesn't mean you have to be one of the starving variety.� Hell yes you should earn money from your hard work and unique talent!� I'm even more envious when an artist's work is wholly unique, and nothing else I have seen even remotely resembles what they are doing, and they are lucky enough that others want to own a piece of their work.� I think nothing makes an artists happier than to have others appreciate and understand what they do.� I cannot tell you how many times I have looked at someone's work and thought to myself, "Oh how I wish *I* had imagined that."� I enjoy everything from painting, photography, and sculpture, to the improvisation work I see each year by performers out at the Renaissance Festival.� A broad spectrum of imaginative work.� Because really, that's what it is;� applying one's imagination then crafting that concept into a tangible media for others to enjoy.� Perhaps the word "art" is too clich�.� And while I have had to focus on one form of my artistic endeavors the last 15 years or so on performance, it doesn't mean that I don't often think about other media I have undertaken in years past.� I earned a Bachelor of Arts in Art from The University of Texas at Austin in 1991, and while that doesn't make me an art EXPERT by any stretch of the imagination, I do know a bit about design and composition, and what goes into creating a "good" piece of art, and those concepts don't just apply to static works.�

So here for you now are some of my favorite visual artists whose work I would like to share and pass around:

Matt Armindariz:� Photography.� Matt is an old friend from my college days.� He is a "recreational chef" and photographer and is compiling a cookbook.� His work makes you want to take a bite out of your monitor.

Jason Stone:� Photography.� Eide's husband who is the only person I know who can make Jen Ellis look this freaky scary.

Strange Dolls:� Roxy Hixon introduced me to these.� This is what I am talking about when I say I become jealous.� Oh how I wish I had thought of these!� They are freaky, and strangely beautiful as well.

c h r o m a s i a:� Photography.� A photographer from Blackpool, on the northwest English coast.� BEAUTIFUL images of the town, events, his family...

PostSecret:� Send in an anonymous postcard with your deepest, darkest secret.� Another idea I wish I had come up with because now this guy is selling books of postcards people send him.

Found Magazine:� Anonymous bits and pieces of people's thoughts found lying about.

Lee Anne Seed:� She has truly distinguished herself with her own signature style.� Normally I am not a fan of fairy art, but I know Lee Anne and actually do like her work if nothing but for the fact that she HAS carved out her niche with her own gorgeous style.

Linda Montano:� Linda was my performance art professor at UT.� She is an incredibly interesting, complex, talented and creative woman.� In many ways, she changed my life.

Bede Van Dyke:� A true all around artist who is a professional architect, but also draws, sculpts, does photography, and paints.� I LOVE his landscapes.

Brady Smith:� I first met Brady when we were both in a production of "Arsenic and Old Lace" at Company OnStage about 10 years ago.� He played a cop.� Since then he has gone on to bigger and better things such as moving to LA and becoming a very successful commercial actor (he's the guy falling backwards on a ladder in an Aflac ad, and will forever be "infamous" for being the first to utter "gellin'" in those annoying Dr. Scholl's ads), and he's married to Tiffani Theissen.� We own one of his paintings which hangs over our fireplace which we purchased at his "clearance sale" before he headed out to Cali.


Song Virus du Jour: I got nothing if you can believe it.� Anyone have a good song virus to share?


Useless Trivia du Jour:� Here is Brady's IMDB page.

0 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007