Wednesday, Jun. 27, 2007 - 7:54 a.m.

Time For an Overhaul

New Page 1

So, for those of you who have experienced the JOY that is full blown pregnancy in its 9th month of glorious wonder, are all too familiar with all of the pleasantries that accompany being so fecund. And one of those "wonders" is that of the pain and soreness in one's hips as they have spread apart and become impossible to sleep with. This meaning, in such an advanced stage of gestation, one's only option is to sleep on one's side, however, at this stage one's hips are incredibly sore and the pain is likely to wake one up several times a night so one may roll over to the other side and let THAT hip develop pain and soreness, that will wake one up an hour later, so one may roll over to the other side, and so on and so forth.

Imagine, if you will, that pain not abating post natal, in one hip, and even sitting in the car for all of 15 minutes causes pain, soreness and stiffness. Getting out of bed is a chore as one can only hobble to the potty.  That would be me having this lovely postpartum experience.

So, today I FINALLY went to see my GP (my OB said no can do to help me) and it turns out I have a bone spur in my left hip! OH JOY!!!! For now I shall be taking an anti-inflammatory to counter the effects. HOPEFULLY I will be able to get a decent night's sleep without waking up in pain, and can actually walk when I get out of bed.

My hands were also x-rayed as I have been having soreness and stiffness there too. Verdict not back on that yet, but he did order blood work to check for certain types of arthritis. *sigh* My parts are wearing out.

And not just MY parts.  It would seem that my house is having issues of its own and its only 6 years old.  The motor for the exhaust fan in the master bathroom burned out, there is not AC getting into that bathroom, the gas pipe to the fireplace is broken (that was my dad's doing when trying to install the gas logs he and mom gave us for Christmas a couple of years back), the dog has chewed all of the molding around all of the doors, there moisture damage on our wood floor in the dining room thanks to our cat, then there is the carpet in our bedroom that the cat adopted as her potty, and now it would appear that we have some kind of moisture or drip issue in the attic as the seam between two sheets of sheetrock in the den is exposed and the sealing tape is peeling off.  I'm sure there is more, but right now, I don't even know where to begin. Oh yes, the dog has almost chewed and dug out the window from its frame in the study.  HUGE hole in the sheetrock around that window.  That will be fun to fix one day.  Suffice it to say, if we wanted to sell this house, ain't gonna happen anytime soon.


Song Virus du Jour:  "Something Wicked This Way Comes" ~ From the "Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban" movie Soundtrack, John Williams, Composer


Useless Trivia du Jour:  Could be worse with my joints.  My poor sister had been having horrible pain in her shoulder and thought she was going to have to have rotator cuff surgery.  Turns out she had two bone spurs that were acting as knives and cutting into the tendon and muscle tissue in her shoulder.  Good news is, three teeny tiny laproscopic incisions, and she is good to go.  Surgery nowadays is amazing.

0 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007