Saturday, May. 31, 2003 - 2:39 p.m.

Geekery

New Page 1

So I am pretty useless today as far as sticking to one single topic, but I do promise a single underlying theme.  Geekdom, geekery, geekism, geekistry.... whatever you want to call it.  I AM a dork.

First off, take this fun FUN inner geek quiz.  I scored a 31.61%  Not as geeky as I thought I was.  Fortunately I lost points for a.) NOT being a gamer, and 2.) NOT being a computer programmer.   I did however gain points for a.)  knowing how to mark time with low steps in high step time, b.) reading Russian literature outside of any academic setting, and c.) giving myself bonus points for reading said Russian literature in Russian, and  pre Revolutionary Russian (Lenin made some changes when he came on the scene - THAT is geekistry!)

Second, why do I do renaissance festivals?  What's the attraction?  Why do I purposefully subject myself to geekdom?  All excellent queries.  Well, its the one and only paying acting gig I have ever had.  And it is so totally fun.  Make no mistake, this is not the SCA.  In fact I really don't know that much about the SCA.  I just like playing my part and wearing the clothes.  We work very VERY hard at putting this show together every year and I am privileged to be a part of it and participate at the level that I do.  Plus, you kind of develop a little fan base.  This morning I was ushering at a theater I am active with and a woman walked in, looked at me and said that she remembered me from a promotional appearance I had done several weeks ago at a Red Cross Banquet.  Now, I can see remembering that you had some people there dressed in Renaissance costume, but to actually remember my face and recognize me totally out of costume?  That's pretty cool!  And while I don't live, eat and breathe Renaissance England, I will have to say that I think I have done enough historical research on everything to pop culture of the day, politics, religion, fashion and the everyday lives of the people that I could probably have earned a masters degree in British History by now.  Another form of geekdom - earning a masters in something totally useless like history.

OK, third, and this is so totally random - I love silly putty.  During the run of Dracula, one of my cast members brought in several pounds, that's right, POUNDS of Silly Putty for people to play with during their down times.  Might I mention how ADDICTIVE it is?  It got everywhere, and my Lucy even found some in her bra one night when she got home, which is funny since she wore a corset on stage.  I now have an iridescent blue glob, and iridescent gold glob and and milky white glob sitting on my desk and begging to be played with.  And really, there is no real PLAYING to be done with it per se, just a bunch of kneading it around, stretching it out, rolling it up in a ball, and treating it like a taffy pull.  Kristin (who brought us the stuff) bought all of it at this really cool site, www.puttyworld.com.    I really REALLY want the purple iridescent and the glow in the dark putty.  I am thinking I have to take some of this to work with me too since its really great for relieving stress when you squeeze it in your hands. SOo yeah, playing with silly putty is pretty geeky.

Great, I have now been inspired to write yet another survey.  A survey on geekiness.  And that in and of itself is pretty dorky.

Song Virus du Jour (And someone REALLY ought to just shoot me now):  "I Like Traffic Lights" ~ Monty Python

0 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007