Sunday, Dec. 18, 2005 - 2:05 p.m.

Oil change boutique

Am I the only one who finds it absolutely hilarious that at these mega oil change/car wash and detailing centers, they sell greeting cards, beauty items of GREAT quality (I am being totally serious about the quality), and a myriad of other boutique items? I mean really, I could have done most of my Christmas shopping today when I took my car in for detailing. The lotions, the knick-knacky girly things.... it was all really nice. But I opted not to do my Christmas shopping there, instead ventured to Le Boutique de Target which was not too terribly packed and managed to get about 1/2 of it done.

How do you shop for things for adults that are not trendy, holiday gagety, and for things that will be used? Know what I got for my brother and brother in law? Rubbermaid extendable car washing brushes and squeegies. I thought there were cool. My niece and nephew are easy. She wants Harry Potter and he wants Yu Gi Oh and there is no shortage of that stuff. My sister is trying to go back to work, so she is getting a nice jacket and a shell to go underneath. My dad is heavily involved in the boy scout troop in his area so he got camping stuff. Mom is another story. I have NO idea what to get her. I am giving myself 5 days to come up with something. I though I would wait til Tarik got home to get stuff for his family. His grandparents are really up there in age and his grandmother is legally blind thanks to diabetes. Oh, maybe books on tape for her. His grandfather, well, I don't know. His aunt will be happy with clothes. His sister will be happy with pretty decorative stuff, and his dad, who is Muslim, likes goofy stuff. Sigh, I was hoping to get it all done today, but Trav was getting sleepy cranky and had been such a good boy for the several hours we were out. He deserved the break.

Bonus Christmas song virus du jour: "Blue Christmas" ~ Elvis Presly

0 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007