Tuesday, Aug. 08, 2006 - 12:37 p.m.

Ren Fest and Family

New Page 1

Its official!  Tarik has been hired into a position at Brown and Root here in Houston and will be returning home for good on August 16th.  The movers are going to be at his apartment on the 13th to help him pack up his stuff to ship back home.  Then he will work up until the 15th, most likely a partial day, then finish up to come back home. And I am glad too.  With what is going on over there right now, I just don't want him in the Middle East anymore.  Heh, at least I got to go to Beirut before it got blown to smithereens again.  

I am so glad that the overwhelming response to this past weekend's rehearsal was positive, and that people had fun!  Because really, why be out there in the 175 degree heat, sweating, stinking, going down with heat, being eaten by mosquitoes, bitten by ants, and any myriad of other physical maladies that can happen to our persons, if we are not out there to have fun and get something self affirming out of it?  I will strive to do my best to make the atmosphere as enjoyable as possible, and to provide as much insight, and third eye directorial assistance as possible.  One of the truly great things about being a part of the performance company at the Texas Renaissance Festival is being surrounded by so much talent and creativity.  And its no joke that creativity inspires creativity in others.  I can't tell you the number of times I have seen bits and thought to myself, "DAMN, I wish I had come up with that.  Its BRILLIANT!"  And being around that kind of work inspires me to be a better performer.  I was not blowing smoke up Eide, Ben, Sherry, and Melissa's collective asses at the end of last year when I said that watching their work truly inspired me and challenged me to be a better performer.  You gots to keep up wit the Jonses!  You'll get left in the dust as a performer out there if you are not continually learning from those who excel at their craft.  If our audience is entertained even one iota as much as I am by the bits and shows that I see out there, then they are in for a great time.


Song Virus du Jour:  "The Mermaid" ~ Poem written by Shel Silverstein, Song recorded by Bobby Bare


Useless Trivia du Jour:  So I learned something I found REALLY disturbing while watching "The Revolution" Sunday night.  In the early days of 1781, during winter, and with no end in sight to the war, the Continental Army were faced with horrible conditions, inadequate uniforms and clothing, poor food quantities and had not been paid for some time. A majority of the Army were contract soldiers and were to be paid according to the terms of their contracts, which was not happening. There were two camp in towns several miles apart, and two groups of men decided to mutiny. One group around January 3 and the second around January 20th. In the middle of the night, they simply walked off the job, out of camp, and headed to Philadelphia to petition Congress for their salary. However, Congress had no money because they were not legally allowed to tax. In any event, the men of the second mutiny were rounded up and the three who organized the mutiny, which was non violent, were ordered executed by Washington. Washington ordered the twelve closest friends of the condemned men to carry out the execution. They had participated in the mutinies as well, but did not organize them. There were two groups of six. The first group, when ordered to fire, fired over the men's heads. The second group were ordered to carry out the execution under threat of death. They were all crying as they loaded their rifles and aimed. They did not miss. There were no further mutinies after this.


Preggo Craving du Jour:  Fried Oysters.  I KNOW!!!  TOTALLY out of left field.  But a nice fried oyster po-boy... mmmmmm.

0 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007