Tuesday, Nov. 07, 2006 - 11:31 a.m.

Queen for a Day

New Page 1

But no more.  I really enjoyed playing the Queen for a weekend.  DEFINITELY a change from what I am used to out there as a performer.  No watching of any of the show pre Royal entrance which includes the court intros, Highland Welcome, and the like.  I could hear Drew over EVERYONE though during Highland Welcome up in the Dragonslayer "waiting room".  That made me chuckle.  I enjoyed going up on the Dragonslayer and seeing the show from up there.  Greg was an absolute delight to work with, and was very helpful to me.  The Feast Hall was fun, and believe it or not, in my seven years out at TRF, I have never performed in the Feast Hall.  Everyone was so nice to me, meaning the cast, and I appreciate everyone's compliments, best wishes and assistance when I needed it.  And I am really surprised at how "not pregnant" I looked in the dress.  I had several people tell me (who know me of course) that I just looked "portly."   And I loved the sheepies for prezzies.  And believe it or not, even though I saw it how many times (?) I STILL cracked up each time I saw "Jamie's New Sheep."

There were some "minuses" though.  The paparazzi factor was through the roof of course, and Saturday when Greg and I were trying to get from the 5:00 joust to the 5:30 scenario show, we had a very difficult time of it as we could not move more than 5 feet at a time without people planting themselves in the midst of us for pictures, most of the time without asking.  One pic would be taken, and we would graciously try to excuse ourselves by letting people know we had to be somewhere in a great hurry, but people would shout "One more!" and plant themselves between us again.  Over and over and over.  You want to be gracious of course and allow for them to have their photo op, but I got the feeling sometimes that to them we were no more than props and that the fact that we were trying to tell people that we needed to go didn't matter one iota to them.  But, its neither here nor there and we made it in time for the show albeit not up on the balcony.  And I am miffed for not asking sooner if there was an alternative skirt to wear.  The double layered skirt that Rosella usually wears is almost a solid sheet of beading and weighs an enormous amount.  The only reason it was an issue is that the weight would press down on my abdominal area and it would fatigue my abdominal muscles and become a little painful after a while, which made walking difficult.  So I had to sit, alot.  It was also a little difficult to maneuver in as well.  Midway through the day on Sunday I discovered that there is a rain day skirt that is only one layer, and weighs only a fraction of what the other skirt weighs, and it is only one piece.  It fit much better and was easier for me to walk in.  The heat really didn't bother me that much thank goodness.  Would I do Queen for a Day/Weekend again?  You betcha, but not pregnant.  At least not this year anyway.  Well, OK, if I could wear a different dress while pregnant and play her pregnant.....  My armpits are still a little sore from the sleeves not fitting properly.  All in all though, a great experience and I am glad I did it.


Song Virus du Jour:  I don't really have anything today.


Useless Trivia du Jour:  Contrary to what many may think, the group that made the trip to New England on the Mayflower were not the first Europeans to settle that part of North America, nor were they the first Brits to do so.  The Jamestown colony had been established several years before in 1607, while the Mayflower colony settled at Plymouth in 1620.


Preggo Craving du Jour:  Earlier today I was really wanting Sweet Tomatoes, but then I ate leftover fettuccini from last night and that took care of that.

0 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007