Saturday, Dec. 17, 2005 - 6:17 a.m.

Parties and Pink Eye

We had our office Christmas party last night. Really, its a party for the whole building that our firm and Haynes' firm pays for. We all draw names from a hat for a Secret Santa gift that is actually a toy that goes to Toys for Tots. But we get a gift that is somehow related to the person who's name we have drawn. I unfortuntately drew someone I don't really know at all, and her name is Nellie. The only thing I could think of was the phrase "Whoa Nellie!", regarding a horse. So I bought some My Little Ponies. You put a clue on the gift and when they are handed out everyone is supposed to guess who it is for based on your clue. The party was catered by a Mexican restaraunt (can never spell that word) and then the gifts are handed out. Well, one of our attorneys plays Santa each year, but he skipped out on us for a little while to attend another law firm party who had hired Lyle Lovett to play. I was jealous. I wanted to see Lyle Lovett. Well, by 7:00 (the party was supposed to start at 5:30 but really started, oh, around 4:00 when people broke out the booze) he had still not returned, and I needed to go so I could pick up Travis. So I don't know which toy was picked for "me." I'll ask on Monday. Its a fun party and everyone always has a good time. It also reminds me that I really do like working at my firm, that MOST of the people there are good people, and we are all friends.

Turns out that Travis has pink eye, poor little guy. He wakes up in the morning with his right eye "glued" shut with thick yellow mucus. Gross. MIL took him to the doc yesterday and they gave us some antibiotic eye drops. We have to administer them for 7 days. He does NOT like it when I have to clean the gook out of his eye, nor having the drops put in. But, he is still a trooper none the less. And I have been careful to not touch my own eyes after having cleaned his since pink eye is so contagious. I hope I don't catch it. I've never had pink eye in my life. If I did, that would mean a trip to the drug store for all new makeup, and I really hate doing that.

Tarik is home in 5 days. YES! Not saying anything for certain now, but, there is the chance he will be leaving something behind when he leaves, that being, its time to start making babies again. Now, the question is, if I do get pregnant, how long will he stay overseas? I've already done one pregnancy by myself, and I don't know if I can do a second one by myself, with a toddler to look after to boot. That may be stretching it a bit. I'm tough though. No, not just tough, I kick ass. Just had to pat myself on the back there for my super woman powers.

Christmas song virus du jour: "The Chipmunks Christmas Song" ~ Alvin and the Chipmunks

0 comments so far
- - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008
More updates on another blog home. - Wednesday, Feb. 06, 2008
Where are my zzzzzz's? - Thursday, Nov. 08, 2007
Halloween '07 - Friday, Nov. 02, 2007
Hallween is All Good! - Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2007